1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

windows media player and realone player poor audio quality

Discussion in 'Multimedia' started by rebbe, Aug 20, 2002.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. rebbe

    rebbe Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2002
    Messages:
    3
    I have two pcs on a wireless network connected to a cable modem. One pc (Thinkpad) has no problem playing internet radio stations through wmp. The other one (Dell 4100) has problems with streaming audio. It can connect to the radio station fine (or download the audio file in either format) but then it keeps buffering while it's playing. I've tried just about everything I can find to fix it: editing the registry (MSoft tech note,) changing the network settings, changing the buffer rate but nothing seems to work. There is more than enough bandwidth to handle the flow of data, plus my cable company says it's not them (of course.) Any help would be really appreciated!

    Thanks.
     
  2. eddie5659

    eddie5659 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2001
    Messages:
    33,902
    Hiya and welcome

    Is this problem with WMP or Realone? Which version of Windows are you running? And the version of WMP?

    If its WMP, then in some cases firewalls will block UDP traffic, which is required for "real-time" streaming playback. In those cases, WMP will be forced to use HTTP/TCP, which will cause us to buffer/pause in times of network congestion. Notably Connection Sharing (ICS) and Personal Firewall cause WMP to use TCP/IP instead of UDP. If you go to View:Statistics:Advanced, you can see what your actual bandwidth is, vs what is needed

    Regards

    eddie
     
  3. rebbe

    rebbe Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2002
    Messages:
    3
    Sorry for the lack of info. Both pcs are running windows me. I already tried disabling the firewall software and trying it again and it still didn't work, but the fact that it's wmp and rop makes me think it's something besides the apps. I'm pretty much stuck.

    TIA,
    Rebecca
     
  4. eddie5659

    eddie5659 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2001
    Messages:
    33,902
    Okay

    For the PC running slow, and buffereing, lets have a look at some things:

    Go to Tools | Internet Options. General tab. Under Delete Files, delete offline content. Also, clear the History.

    Content tab, under AutoComplete, clear Forms and Passwords.

    Advanced tab, under Browsing, look for Enable Insta on Demand. Untick.
    Under Security, look for Empty Tempory Internet... Tick.
    Apply and OK

    Go to Find Files and type in cookie. When found, open the folder, and delete all the cookies found. You won't be able to delete the .dat file found.

    For this, go here and get the Spider

    http://forums.techguy.org/showthread.php?threadid=55214&highlight=Spider

    Go to Run and type MSINFO32
    On the left choose Software Enviroment, then Startup Programs. Copy/paste the list here.

    Also, go here and download AddAware http://tomcoyote.com/lsindex.html

    Download and run, ensuring that Deep Registry scan is enabled. Remove all except any references to Web3000 or new.net. If you're unsure, copy/paste the list here.

    Also, whilst you're there, download and install RefUpdate to get the latest updates. Just click Connect.

    eddie
     
  5. rebbe

    rebbe Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2002
    Messages:
    3
    Eddie,
    Wow, thanks for your help! You've certainly given me lots of things to try. I hope I can get this to work; it's my dad's pc. However, we're leaving on vacation today and won't be back till Labor Day weekend, so I'm not going to do anything about this before I leave. So, you may be hearing from me but not for a while.

    Thanks Again!!
    Rebecca :p
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/92103

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice