1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Windows Media Player error

Discussion in 'Multimedia' started by RickRogers, Dec 21, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. RickRogers

    RickRogers Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2012
    Messages:
    7
    Hi,
    I've had an HP Media Center PC but never tried to run TV before. I've now treid to run Media Center and get an error:
    "Strong Validation failed for assembly 'C\Windows\ehome\ehshell.exe'. The file may have been tampered...
    Pressing OK returns an exception: "Process id=0xee0 (3808), Thread id=0x434 (1076)

    I know this is not a new problem (in general) as I've found loads of internet hits. However, I've been unable to correct it, even though I've tried to download various fixes from Microsoft, including "...Update rollup 2"- the last one said it required Windows Media Player 2005, which I thought would have been my version, unless it has updated itself automatically...

    Any help welcome. Thanks
     
  2. Oddba11

    Oddba11

    Joined:
    May 12, 2011
    Messages:
    7,933
    First Name:
    Jim
    First, confiirm the actual version of Windows that you are using.

    Control Panel / System / General Tab
     
  3. RickRogers

    RickRogers Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2012
    Messages:
    7
    It says Win XP Media Center Edition Version 2002 Service Pack 3.
     
  4. Oddba11

    Oddba11

    Joined:
    May 12, 2011
    Messages:
    7,933
    First Name:
    Jim
  5. RickRogers

    RickRogers Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2012
    Messages:
    7
    Thanks for post.
    I manually installed SP3, but the symptoms are the same.

    I had to completely re-install windows in September this year. I know Media Player has worked in the past (though I don't regularly use it). The re-install was a complete hassle, as MSoft seems to have pulled support for automatic updates to SP2.

    All I'm actually trying to do is to access TV, as there's a TV tuner card in the PC. Is there any other way of accessing this?
     
  6. Oddba11

    Oddba11

    Joined:
    May 12, 2011
    Messages:
    7,933
    First Name:
    Jim
    Skip the whole automatic updates hassle. You can manually download all of the Service Packs (they are available for network administrators). After all of the SP's are installed, Automatic Updates will function to get the security updates.

    You could simply use third party software. The card likely shipped with software (unless it was an OEM install). There may be other conflicts (I've not used it, so I'm not sure) as the purpose of XP Media Center Edition was that tuner support built-in.
     
  7. kerryjosber

    kerryjosber

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    yeah, i think so, After all of the SP's are installed, Automatic Updates will function to get the security updates.thanks[​IMG]
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1081875

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice