Windows Media Player error

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

wgreene

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 19, 2001
Messages
989
Could someone please tell me why I invariably get the following error message whenever I click on a webpage link to play something using Windows Media Player (vers. 7.1, I believe):

Cannot open. Please verify that path and filename are correct
and try again.

I am using Windows 98. Offers of help will be greatly appreciated.
 
Joined
Jul 11, 2001
Messages
3,208
Is that the complete error or are there some numbers mixed with it?
 

wgreene

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 19, 2001
Messages
989
Thank you all very much for your responses.

I'm not really clear about what you mean by 'shortcut.' What I do is go to a website and click on a link. I don't type anything in. For example, I've gone to a Japanese website -- http://www.qab.co.jp/ -- and there is a thumbnail photo of a cityscape with the words "Live camera" underneath. I clicked on this photo and I got the error message. I then clicked on Advanced and got the following code number: 800C000D, with an explanation that 'the server or proxy was not found.' In this case, does that mean nothing is available for viewing and that anyone else would get the same message I've been getting? As I mentioned before I have gotten the same -- or similar -- error messages a number of times recently when attempting to use WMP.

However, I went to the CNN website about 30 minutes ago and clicked on VIDEO, then chose my player (WMP) and my connection (broadband), then clicked on the link and was able to watch the video without any problems. So obviously I'm not having this WMP problem all the time. I'm not very computer savvy, so I don't understand why this error message shows up as frequently as it does. I can't ever recall having gotten it at all until recently.

Thanks again for your help(s).

Bill
 
Joined
Jul 11, 2001
Messages
3,208
This is addressed in the link by Tony under:

The protocol is not known and no pluggable protocols have been entered that match
 

wgreene

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 19, 2001
Messages
989
I was wondering if the link would work with RealPlayer. Previously I had RP installed but I believe it was conflicting with WMP, so I unintstalled it. In a few minutes I will re-install RP and try the link again -- and hope that there are no conflicts with WMP. Also, I'll return to Tony's link. Thanks all.

Bill
 
Joined
Aug 19, 2008
Messages
1
My PC Windows Media Player was face internal error when turn on of it~~~can anybody help me?? I been re-install this software once, but the problem still exist.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top