1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Windows media player has stopped working

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by patric333, Jan 28, 2019.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. patric333

    patric333 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 24, 2004
    Messages:
    129
    Have windows 7. When I try to use windows media player & VLC media player I get " WMP / VLC has stopped working". WMP was my default but changed it to VLC with no luck.Get the same message with the screensaver, when I click on preview for new screensaver the message appears instantly.
     
  2. snuffleufflegus

    snuffleufflegus

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2017
    Messages:
    351
    Have you tried running the wmp troubleshooter?
    If not,type or copy and paste the following into the run box,then hit enter.
    msdt.exe -id WindowsMediaPlayerConfigurationDiagnostic

    If that does not work,run sfc to scan your computer for errors.

    If still no success,uninstall and reinstall a fresh copy of wmp.
    Do not use the default windows 7 uninstaller.I prefer revo uninstaller as it also removes remnants of the installation from the registry.
     
  3. patric333

    patric333 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 24, 2004
    Messages:
    129
    Ran the troubleshooter and it said "configuration setting might be set incorrectly"
    ran sfc and all was good.
    if its windows media player, vlc or even quicktime I get the same message.. Thanks
     
  4. plodr

    plodr

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2014
    Messages:
    17,978
    First Name:
    Liz
  5. patric333

    patric333 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 24, 2004
    Messages:
    129
    the sound never has a chance to work, the warning message happens instantly.
     
  6. plodr

    plodr

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2014
    Messages:
    17,978
    First Name:
    Liz
    Look in device manager to see if sound is listed. Do you have a sound icon in your toolbar? You don't need a media player to play Windows system sounds.

    Control panel, Sound, then the 3rd tab Sounds
    sound.jpg
    Pick a sound and press the Test button. Do you hear it?
     
  7. patric333

    patric333 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 24, 2004
    Messages:
    129
    Sound works and I did try to restore defaults with no luck, thanks
     
  8. plodr

    plodr

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2014
    Messages:
    17,978
    First Name:
    Liz
    Okay, I'll need to do some more searching for other ways to fix WMP.

    Somewhere in my notes, I have a site where all the guy did was solve WMP problems. I'll look through my notes and see if the site is still up.
     
  9. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    79,821
    First Name:
    Frank
    Microsoft is sabotaging certain features in Windows Media Player 12 in an attempt to get people to switch to Windows 10, so that may be part of your problem.

    I remove Windows Media Player 12 after I install Windows 7, then I install and use VLC Media Player 3.0.6.

    ---------------------------------------------------------------
     
  10. plodr

    plodr

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2014
    Messages:
    17,978
    First Name:
    Liz
    Here is the site, I'm glad it is still up.
    Code:
    http://www.zachd.com/pss/pss.html
    Run through the WMP 12 section and see if any apply.

    I'm going to start searching through the error codes to see if I can find anything useful there.
    Nothing useful in errors. I'm following some additional links the site owner has provider. Some are dead.

    This one https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/allproducts
    you can't find WMP anywhere so apparently MS no longer feels the need to help you do any troubleshooting.

    Try this
    https://www.thewindowsclub.com/troubleshooting-windows-media-player-in-windows-7

    If that does nothing, then start at step #2 here.
    After doing each step, try to open WMP 12 and see if it is working; if not, try the next step.
     
    Last edited: Jan 31, 2019
  11. patric333

    patric333 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 24, 2004
    Messages:
    129
    I updated my graphics card and that solved the problem, thanks for your help !
     
    snuffleufflegus likes this.
  12. plodr

    plodr

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2014
    Messages:
    17,978
    First Name:
    Liz
    Thanks for posting how you solved it. This helps others that might have the same problem.
     
  13. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1222416

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice