1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Windows Media Player not responding after close

Discussion in 'Multimedia' started by BaileySydney, Jan 6, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. BaileySydney

    BaileySydney Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    Messages:
    27
    Hello.

    I came across this site while trying to find a solution to the problem described in this thread.

    I haven't been receiving the low memory messages but each time I launch WMP it seems to work fine. However, if I close it and want to reopen it later it will not do so and when I check my task mgr. it shows that WMP has gone into not responding mode and it freezes up my system.

    I have to shut down and restart each time.

    Any ideas anyone may have on how to fix this pesky problem would be greatly appreciated.

    Thanks in advance.
     
  2. Davey7549

    Davey7549

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2001
    Messages:
    11,584
    BaileySydney
    Welcome to TSG!
    Split thread from resolved issue so your problem gets the attention it deserves.

    Dave
     
  3. eddie5659

    eddie5659 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2001
    Messages:
    36,380
    Hiya and welcome BaileySydney

    Go to Run and type MSINFO32
    On the left choose Software Enviroment, then Startup Programs. Copy/paste the list here.

    Also, go here and download AddAware

    http://www.lavasoftusa.com/

    Download and run, ensuring that Deep Registry scan is enabled. Remove all except any references to Web3000 or new.net. If you're unsure, copy/paste the list here.

    Also, whilst you're there, download and install RefUpdate to get the latest updates. Just click Connect.

    Regards

    eddie
     
  4. BaileySydney

    BaileySydney Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    Messages:
    27
    Thanks so much for the welcome and the response.

    Davey, thank you!

    Eddie, I run ad-aware regularly and ran it again just yesterday.

    This is the list from MSINFO, software, start up:

    *StateMgr c:\windows\system\restore\statemgr.exe All Users HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\RunServices
    NAV DefAlert c:\progra~1\norton~1\defalert.exe All Users HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run
    Norton eMail Protect c:\program files\norton antivirus\poproxy.exe All Users HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run
    PCHealth c:\windows\pchealth\support\pchschd.exe -s All Users HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run
    Pop-Up Stopper "c:\program files\pop-up stopper\dpps2.exe" All Users HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run
    ScanRegistry c:\windows\scanregw.exe /autorun All Users HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run
    SchedulingAgent mstask.exe All Users HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\RunServices
    SystemTray systray.exe All Users HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run
    WPCycle.exe .DEFAULT HKU\.DEFAULT\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run


    Off to download RefUpdate now.

    Also, I have tried many of the things that were mentioned in this thread (before it was split) before I posted. I am not sure what the other poster meant by he formatted his HD and it fixed his problem. Is he referring to his hard drive?

    Thanks so much,
    Bailey
     
  5. eddie5659

    eddie5659 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2001
    Messages:
    36,380
    Okay

    Formatting the drive will solve many things, but many here at TSG, and other forums, believe thats the final thing to do. It involves backing up all data, and loading drivers again, etc..

    Anyway, should have said, but AddAware hasn't been updated for a while, so you may want to try Spybot:

    http://tomcoyote.com/SPYBOT/

    Now, onto the list..

    *StateMgr: Windows default for System Restore. Do NOT disable!

    NAV DefAlert: Norton Anti-Virus Definitions Alert. Warns you if virus definitions are out of date. Leave enabled unless you manually update virus definitions on a regular basis

    Norton eMail Protect: Proxy E-mail protection from Norton Anti-Virus (prior to 2002). If you have it installed, leave it enabled to automatically check for suspect attachments in E-mails that may contain viruses. It downloads the E-mail into poproxy, which serves as a proxy server on the local machine, before scanning it. Keep

    PCHealth: This is a "scheduler" and does not turn off PC Health. Not needed.

    Pop-Up Stopper: Pop-Up Stopper Companion from Panicware. Pop-up blocker integrated into the IE toolbar. Note that the Pro version doesn't load in startup as it is installed as an Internet Explorer toolbar. Can cause problems with IE if you use WinXP and uninstall Service Pack 1. Uninstalling the software leaves it in the startup group

    ScanRegistry: keep

    SchedulingAgent: MS Scheduling Agent displayed as a box with a stopwatch in the System Tray that is only needed if you have regular scheduled disk defragmenting, ScanDisk, etc. Required if you have regularily scheduled events such as weekly virus scans.

    SystemTray: keep

    WPCycle.exe: Added when selecting Mplayer2 to open media files. Forces other codes to Wait for Previous instructions to end, preventing instability of your CPU (freezing). Keep


    Go to Run and type MSCONFIG, startup tab. Uncheck the ones you don't want, apply and restart.

    I don't have anything like WPCycle.exe on my startup. However, you may want to see if this is causing the problems, if it still freezes after going thru the list. You can always put it back, if still no joy.

    eddie
     
  6. BaileySydney

    BaileySydney Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    Messages:
    27
    Thanks, Eddie.

    Previously I had gone into msconfig and turned off everything I didn't want nor need on startup.

    I don't know a whole lot about technical things but I don't think anything on my start up is causing the problem with Media Player.

    Rebuilding my HD is something I've thought of doing (to solve problems other than the current MP problem) but it really isn't something I want to do unless absolutely necessary.

    I can live without MP if need be.

    Thanks for your help.
     
  7. eddie5659

    eddie5659 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2001
    Messages:
    36,380
    Have you tried the running WMP in SafeMode?

    eddie
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/111944

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice