Windows Media Player Problem..

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

RsX

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 24, 2003
Messages
82
Everytime I try to play a file on windows media player.. it doesnt seem to work.. it says connecting.. then these 2 icons appear on the bottom right tray icons. I believe its vobsub, and this reclock properties. After that, it just exits the WMP by itself...

When I try to open / load a video file, it also closes..

Can anyone help ?

My computer is windows XP, 37.5 GB space, 256 MB RAM, dell, pentium 4 proc, 1.7GHZ
 
Joined
Feb 13, 1999
Messages
8,974
What has happened most likely is another application was installed that is conflicting with it or changed the default settings. If you have not upgraded to version 9 download it and the install should correct the problems.
 

RsX

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 24, 2003
Messages
82
I already had WMP version 9 that time. I think you are right.. I think I installed some codec.. because I remember this pop up asking me to download this codec to watch this stream video. How do I get rid of this..

I already tried reinstalling WMP 9 over the other one, didnt work.
 
Joined
Dec 26, 2003
Messages
394
I recently had a LOT of trouble with WMP. I tried to uninstall it several times. (Note: As you probably know, the uninstall only takes you back to a previous version, ala Internet Explorer.) I was left with 2 choices: 1) format, or 2) find another media player. I didn't like either choice, but I preferred choice No. 1, on the idea that it's better to deal with the ills you have than to fly to others that you don't know about. So I got pissed off and, after "uninstalling" WMP, I went on a rampage and deleted anything with "wmp" in the file name. (I figured that if this doesn't work, I'll just reformat......I've sure done that enough times.) I went into the registry.......deleted anything with WMP. Then I ran a search.......ditto. Anything with "WMP" in the name was out the window!! Then I downloaded the "upgrade" from MS (as I had done those many times). You know what.......it WORKED!!! However, you gotta be ready to reformat, cause this process, particularly fooling around in the registry, could blow your system.

pjblevin
 

RsX

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 24, 2003
Messages
82
Aw damit.. I knew I shouldnt have installed the excess windows media player codec, I don't want to format my computer just because of this player, I want to use this player because I can pause and take screeenshots of particular movies. Other players I pause take a screenshot using (Print Screen) and it doesn't work. Does anyone know of any video programs that can pause and take screenshots ?
 
Joined
Feb 13, 1999
Messages
8,974
Try going to Add/Remove Programs in the Control Panel and see if you can uninstalled the codec you installed. Then perfrom a System Restore a day or a few days before you installed the codec. You can access it in the Control Panel and selecting Performance and Maintenance and System Restore, which will be listed in the left top menu.

Good luck.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Top