Windows Media Player randomly begins skipping...

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

wyred

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 30, 2005
Messages
40
Hello all,

I'm really hoping someone knows how to fix this; my music is important!

it usually happens after I've been listening to the media player for an hour or more; the media player begins skipping as it plays through the song (doesn't get stuck skipping in one spot). It just started recently, and I can't think of what it might be. there are no known viruses or spyware on my pc.

help?

thanks!
 
Joined
Apr 2, 2004
Messages
318
I have the same problem as you.
I don't think it has anything to do with your HJT log though.

Yes, my problem is that it just starts skipping and it is on all media files. I haven't installed/uninstalled anything lately but I really want this solved because I love my music!
 

Cheeseball81

Retired Moderator
Joined
Mar 3, 2004
Messages
84,315
On the Tools menu, click Options, and then click the Devices tab.
Click the CD drive for which you want to turn on error correction, and then click Properties.
In the Playback area of the Audio tab, select the Use error correction check box.

If the problems continue, try switching to analog playback (available on the same tab as the Use error correction check box ). Analog playback will make visualizations unavailable unless your computer is running Windows XP. You may also try turning off the graphic equalizer and SRS Wow Effects to improve the audio.
 

Cheeseball81

Retired Moderator
Joined
Mar 3, 2004
Messages
84,315
Haven't found a solution for that. Although, another cause for skipping could be that your computer's processor is maxed out. Try quitting other applications.

But for wyred, it may be a bandwidth issue. You can change your connection settings to a lower bandwidth by selecting the "LOW" stream quality.

If you're surfing to other web sites or pages while you play your station, loading those web pages reduces the amount of bandwidth available to stream music to your computer.

Try adjusting your player's buffering.
 
Joined
Apr 2, 2004
Messages
318
I quit all the processes that I am not using at the moment and still has a problem.

Gr, this is very frustrating :( .
 

Cheeseball81

Retired Moderator
Joined
Mar 3, 2004
Messages
84,315
I personally don't like Windows Media Player at all. I listen to all my music with Winamp.
 

wyred

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 30, 2005
Messages
40
I have also ended all of my other programs and still continued to experience this problem as well. I am now pretty confident that it is related to the amount of processes i have running on my computer and that it is being over loaded. I am currently debating completely uninstalling everything from my pc, and doing a full restore, reinstalling all upgrades for windows and everything else. my computer is ready for it. i notice little quarks on my computer from past programs, different edits to my registry, etc. that i believe only a full restore is capable of fixing.
 
Joined
May 9, 2007
Messages
1
Hey guys
I saw that this thread is pretty old but I had the same problem. So I searched it and it brought me here, and I figured it could help someone in the future, maybe. hah
But yeah, I think I have found a solution but I don't really understand it.

I opened up Volume Control and I muted my Input Moniter because my mic was making static through my speakers and ever since I have had no more skipping in Windows Media Player.

So I don't know if this is the fix, but its the only thing I have changed since I noticed it wasn't skipping.

Best of luck
 
Joined
Jan 3, 2006
Messages
357
Another possible cause is heavily fragmented files. Try defragmenting your hard drive(s) occasionally.
 
Joined
Sep 8, 2007
Messages
1
Hi,

I was just fixing a very similar problem on my PC. I found that I had previously upped the sampling rate above the default 44.1kHz, I presume this was somehow overloading the on-board sound processing on my motherboard. Restoring it back to its default has fixed it for me.

Hope this works for you?
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top