1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Windows media player

Discussion in 'Earlier Versions of Windows' started by tbear, Oct 14, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. tbear

    tbear Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    Messages:
    2
    Hello, I need to know how to activate ACTIVEX for my media player i have windows 98 and have WMP6.4


    Thank you
     
  2. Styxx

    Styxx Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2001
    Messages:
    4,888
    Why do you claim to need to enable activeX? Here's how to reset the Internet Explorer security configuration to the correct default settings.

    Open Internet Explorer (IE); Tools menu; Internet Options; Advanced tab; Click the Restore Defaults button; Click Apply; Click Ok. Close IE.

    Open (IE); Click the Tools menu; Point to Internet Options; Click the Security tab; Click the Default Level button; Click Apply; Click Ok. Close IE.

    Open IE; Click the Tools menu; Internet Options; Click the Security tab; Click the Custom Level button; Click Apply; Click Ok. Close IE. Start IE as desired.

    ***

    Go to http://windowsupdate.microsoft.com and get all the Critical Updates and Service Packs. Go back to that site and get the Critical Updates and Service Packs until no more are available.

    Plus go here and get WMP 9 http://www.windowsmedia.com/9series/home.asp click the Download link at the top of the page.
     
  3. tbear

    tbear Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    Messages:
    2
    I have a training cd from work that when i try to play it . Window comes up says activex not installed. And I tried what you sais no help and I downloaded WMP9 no help also.
     
  4. Styxx

    Styxx Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2001
    Messages:
    4,888
    Sounds like you need to uninstall/restart your computer/reinstall the training program, in the Add/Remove Programs Control Panel. Temporarily disable your anti-virus' Real-Time scanner whenever you install a program. If when you install this program the setup of that program wants to install certain features, try letting it install all features this time.
     
As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/172039

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice