1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Windows Microphone Issues (HELP)

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by itypesmiling, Feb 11, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. itypesmiling

itypesmiling Thread Starter

I'm a musician, and i recently upgraded my entire Digital Audio Workstation; however, when i plug my Microphone in through my focusrite saffire 6 USB, control panel seems to recognise the mic's existence, and can enable it, but when the mic and focusrite are working in order (there's feedback from the mic coming through my headphones), control panel doesn't recognise any activity. Sometimes, it reads as if the mic is constantly receiving one level of sound, at 4 bars in Control panel > hardware & sound > sound > recording, and other times just recieves no input at all. It always recognises the mic though, and claims that everything is in working order. :s. HELP, i need to do recording this week!!! Specs of my system are below. YES, all the drivers are installed.

Computer: Alienware m17x, 12 GB RAM, WDM Sound card, etc. Pretty standard for 2 grand's worth.
    Focusrite SAFFIRE 6 USB
    sE X1 microphone. Works as a mic and on its own, i just can't get it to input sounds to the computer. It works on my other laptop.

2. rainforest123

rainforest123

i :
    Hello & Welcome to Tech Guy Forum.

Is this the complete brand, model & model # of the computer?
    Alienware m17x

Would you describe yourself as a beginning, intermdiate or advanced computer user?

Please run this forum's system info utility & post the results in a reply.
    http://library.techguy.org/wiki/TSG_Valuable_links

Open control panel
    upper right, set "view" to large icons
    Open "Device Manager"
    Go to the "sound video & game controllers"
    Left click the "+"