Windows Microphone Issues (HELP)

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

itypesmiling

I'm a musician, and i recently upgraded my entire Digital Audio Workstation; however, when i plug my Microphone in through my focusrite saffire 6 USB, control panel seems to recognise the mic's existence, and can enable it, but when the mic and focusrite are working in order (there's feedback from the mic coming through my headphones), control panel doesn't recognise any activity. Sometimes, it reads as if the mic is constantly receiving one level of sound, at 4 bars in Control panel > hardware & sound > sound > recording, and other times just recieves no input at all. It always recognises the mic though, and claims that everything is in working order. :s. HELP, i need to do recording this week!!! Specs of my system are below. YES, all the drivers are installed.

Computer: Alienware m17x, 12 GB RAM, WDM Sound card, etc. Pretty standard for 2 grand's worth.
Focusrite SAFFIRE 6 USB
sE X1 microphone. Works as a mic and on its own, i just can't get it to input sounds to the computer. It works on my other laptop.

i :
Hello & Welcome to Tech Guy Forum.

Is this the complete brand, model & model # of the computer?
Alienware m17x

Would you describe yourself as a beginning, intermdiate or advanced computer user?

Please run this forum's system info utility & post the results in a reply.
http://library.techguy.org/wiki/TSG_Valuable_links

Open control panel
upper right, set "view" to large icons
Open "Device Manager"
Go to the "sound video & game controllers"
Left click the "+"
Create a screen shot using W7's snipping tool

http://windows.microsoft.com/en-US/windows7/Use-Snipping-Tool-to-capture-screen-shots

Return to this thread
use "go advanced"
"manage attachments"
browse to the file
upload it
close the window
submit reply