1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Windows Millennium Networking

Discussion in 'Networking' started by FZWG, Oct 6, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. FZWG

    FZWG Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2000
    Messages:
    974
    Appreciate some assistance.

    If the Home Networking Wizard is run in W-Me, should Internet Connection Sharing in Control Panel, Windows Setup, Communications, be checked or unchecked while this wizard is run?

    Do want to establish a network between two PCs, and then use the host PC with a cable modem to connect to the Internet.

    Not sure if the Home Networking Wizard does the entire setup, or if one needs to run the Home Networking Wizard, and then run whatever ICS requires.
     
  2. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    If you want to share a broadband connection, I STRONGLY suggest you consider a broadband router. There's a current rebate deal running at Microcenter for $15 on a Netgear router.

    A router will provide basic firewall protection for all the computers, and connecting them will be dirt simple. Also, you won't have to have the "master" always on so the other computer can connect to the Internet.

    If you insist on using ICS, here's a site that has a guide to setting it up: http://www.homenethelp.com/ics/index.asp
     
  3. Squashman

    Squashman Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2003
    Messages:
    19,783
  4. FZWG

    FZWG Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2000
    Messages:
    974
    Thanks for the replies. Looks like great news!!

    They DO have a router.

    Doing this for some senior citizen folks, and their son had set the PCs up a while back, however, they had to reformat both of them (teenage grandkids downloading junk (Kazaa, etc.)), so have no idea of how they were set up.

    The cable modem was connected to the router, and so were the two computers.

    If both PCs were connected to the router, there is no need for ICS?

    Do we still have to run the W-Me Home Networking Wizard?
     
  5. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    If you have a router, and it hasn't been tinkered with, forget the networking wizard! Just set the TCP/IP to automatically obtain an IP and DNS address, and watch it go! :D
     
  6. FZWG

    FZWG Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2000
    Messages:
    974
    Thanks for the help, johnwill.

    "...and it hasn't been tinkered with..."

    Not that I am aware of.

    These folks would not know what to do. For that matter neither do I, just have a plain old dial-up modem on each PC, no network or anything like it.

    The router is a Lynskey. Is there software required to set this goodie up? Guess, as you say, if has not been tinkered with, the software (if any) will not be necessary.
    ---

    "...forget the networking wizard! Just set the TCP/IP to automatically obtain an IP and DNS address..."

    Can you expand on how to go about doing this?
    Are we talking about:

    Control Panel>Networks>TCP/IP (for the NIC)
    On IP Address tab: check 'Obtain IP Address automatically'
    On DNS Configuration: check 'Enable DNS'

    How about DHCP? Does something need done about it?
     
  7. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    You need NO additional software to get all of the equipment working!

    First off, you shouldn't be tinkering with the router if it's already configured.

    For the TCP/IP, you want it to obtain an IP address and DNS addresses automatically. When you configure that, DHCP is used to obtain these addresses, no further configuration required.
     
  8. FZWG

    FZWG Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2000
    Messages:
    974
    Thanks for the info.

    Will give it a whirl.
     
  9. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/169942

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice