1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Windows No disk error

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by dsrour, Jan 22, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. dsrour

    dsrour Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2006
    Messages:
    4
    Saw previous posts and fixes using "Hijack this." I'm getting same error. Also some of my programs won't run, like Palm Desktop. Also locks up sometimes when switching betewwen users. Not sure if this is related, but all seemed to happen about the same time.Thanks for your help!
     
  2. Emtronics

    Emtronics

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2000
    Messages:
    2,984
    Do you have an up to date anti-virus??? I don't mean that you updated it after your problems developed because a virus or trojan can slip through between updates, I mean do you have a good a/v that is updated on your system? Did you run it? (a complete scan)
     
  3. dsrour

    dsrour Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2006
    Messages:
    4
    yes I have Mcafee and autoupdate, but have not scanned lately. I will do complete system scan. Thanks
     
  4. dsrour

    dsrour Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2006
    Messages:
    4
    I ran Mcafee and no viruses found. tx
     
  5. Emtronics

    Emtronics

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2000
    Messages:
    2,984
    Ok Help me understand your "no disk" error. Looks like you boot into Windows. When does this error pop up? Is your Palm Desktop the only problem you have or other software refuse to start? Is this XP Home? Are you on the User that has ADMIN rights?
     
  6. dsrour

    dsrour Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2006
    Messages:
    4
    It pops up if I open Adaware--I deleted it. When adaaware is open you can not get rid of error message by clicking on cancel until adaware is closed. Then click cancel 4 or 5 times and it goes away. The message also pops up at other times but havent correlated w/ one specific program. I am user w/ admin rights. Tx
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/436195

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice