1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Windows - No Disk

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by Wiiboy4ever, Mar 6, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Wiiboy4ever

    Wiiboy4ever Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2012
    Messages:
    39
    This problem has been agitating me for years and I've done practically all I can to get rid of it. It's indedibly annoying and I think it has something to do with that "no floppy disk F1 to normal boot, F2 to setup thing" error that I get when XP boots. Completely reformatting my hard drive doesn't even gets rid of this thing, it's like it's immune to everything!

    The error says "Windows - No Disk
    There is no disk in the drive. Please insert a disk into the drive."

    I've looked in several threads and haven't found a solution that gets rid of this hassle. I can't run Hijack This because the link to it on another thread was dead. :(

    Please help me. :( I hate this error so much and I just want it to go away. Any help would be appreciated.
     
  2. DoubleHelix

    DoubleHelix Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Messages:
    24,388
    Change the boot order in the BIOS.
     
  3. Wiiboy4ever

    Wiiboy4ever Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2012
    Messages:
    39
    Done it, does nothing.
     
  4. DoubleHelix

    DoubleHelix Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Messages:
    24,388
    You set the hard drive to be the first boot device, and you get the same error?
     
  5. Wiiboy4ever

    Wiiboy4ever Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2012
    Messages:
    39
  6. blues_harp28

    blues_harp28 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    17,072
    Let us have some Pc specifications.
    Check and post
    TSG System Information Utility - found here.
    http://library.techguy.org/wiki/TSG_Valuable_links

    Post a Hjt log - to see what is running on your system.

    Hijack this 2.04
    • Save HJTInstall.exe to your desktop.
    • Doubleclick on the HJTInstall.exe icon on your desktop.
    • By default it will install to C:\Program Files\Trend Micro\HijackThis .
    • Click on Install.
    • It will create a HijackThis icon on the desktop.
    • Once installed, it will launch Hijackthis.
    • Click on the Do a system scan and save a logfile button. It will scan and the log should open in notepad.
    • Click on "Edit > Select All" then click on "Edit > Copy" to copy the entire contents of the log.
    • Come back here to this thread and Paste the log in your next reply.
    • DO NOT use the AnalyseThis button, its findings are dangerous if misinterpreted.
    • DO NOT have Hijackthis fix anything yet. Most of what it finds will be harmless or even required.


    Post the uninstall log from Hjt log
    Start HiJackThis.
    Click > Open The Misc Tools Section button.
    Click > Open Uninstall Manager.
    Click > Save List.
    Save the uninstall list file on your desktop.
    It will then open in Notepad.
    Copy-and-Paste the uninstall list in the reply box.
     
  7. Wiiboy4ever

    Wiiboy4ever Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2012
    Messages:
    39
    It's all blank. :eek:

    Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.2
    OS Version:
    Processor:
    Processor Count:
    RAM:
    Graphics Card:
    Hard Drives:
    Motherboard:
    Antivirus: None

    It gives me exactly that. Any idea what I could be doing wrong?

    Also, hijackthis won't let me install because of this error message:

    The Windows Installer Service could not be accessed. This can occur if you are running Windows in safe mode, or if the Windows Installer is not correctly installed. Contact your support personnel for assistance.
     
  8. blues_harp28

    blues_harp28 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    17,072
    Are you running in Safe Mode?
    If No.

    Click the start button > run > type.
    cmd
    Then Ok.
    Then type
    msiexec.exe /unregister
    [Note the space after exe]

    Press Enter.
    Then type.
    msiexec /regserver

    Press Enter.
     
  9. Wiiboy4ever

    Wiiboy4ever Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2012
    Messages:
    39
    Okay... not sure what to do after that but I did it and tried to install the thing and I got the same error.
     
  10. blues_harp28

    blues_harp28 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    17,072
    Ok - try this.
    Start > Run > Type.
    SERVICES.MSC
    Click > Ok.

    Scroll down to Windows Installer.
    Right Click > Properties.
    In the drop down box - Set to Manual.

    Or if already set to Manual - Click the Start Button.
    Apply > Ok > Restart your Pc.
     
  11. Wiiboy4ever

    Wiiboy4ever Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2012
    Messages:
    39
    After right clicking properties, nothing pops up

    (sorry, should have told you this before, but after getting unstartable boots in xp due to insane loading and freezing/crashing times, I restarted the CPU several times, and wound up getting blue screens, rendering the computer unbootable, which I - sort of - fixed. After that, I could log on successfully, with slow loading times, and resulting in annoying oddities such as taskbar vanishing, audio driver wiped out, can't copy and paste/drag, etc. So that might have something to do with it)
     
  12. blues_harp28

    blues_harp28 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    17,072
    Yes all of the above would have caused all manner of problems. ;)

    I would try a System Restore.

    Start>run>type
    msconfig
    Click Launch System restore.

    Then choose a date prior to the problem - go back to a date before you made the changes to your system.
    I have to log off for the night - good luck, I will check your post first thing tomorrow.
     
  13. Wiiboy4ever

    Wiiboy4ever Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2012
    Messages:
    39
    Thanks for you efforts! :)

    But I think System Restore is another casualty. :/

    I click it and it says

    "System Restore is not able to protect your computer. Please restart your computer, and then run System Restore again.
     
  14. blues_harp28

    blues_harp28 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    17,072
    If you have the install Cd.
    Boot from the Xp install Cd...when prompted press [R]
    Choose Windows installation [typically by pressing [1]
    When prompted for password.
    Press Enter.
    Type chkdsk /r
    [note space after chkdsk]

    When fininshed.
    Type Exit
    And press Enter.

    If you do not have the Cd.
    Right click My Computer>Open
    Right click - Local disk - should be C:
    Click Properties.

    Tools>Error checking.
    Tick both boxes
    Click start.
    It will say it cannot scan, do you want it to scan at the next start up..
    Click Yes - restart Pc.

    It will scan the system at the next start up - let it scan - it will boot to your desktop [hopefully]
     
  15. Wiiboy4ever

    Wiiboy4ever Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2012
    Messages:
    39
    It scanned, but the problem persists, unfortunately
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1044132