Windows not loading

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

hr33pk

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 31, 2018
Messages
7
Having windows xp sp3. Windows not loading. It loaded when I changed sata mode from RAID to AHCI, but mouse stopped working so had to change back to RAID.
A while ago I changed the cmos battery . But this problem started even before changing the battery. Any help! What should I do now.
 

hr33pk

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 31, 2018
Messages
7
Actually I don't know much about RAID or AHCI. I just want my pc to start working normally.
 

blues_harp28

Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
Jan 9, 2005
Messages
18,936
Hi, try a system restore.
Re-start the pc and tap F8 as the pc is starting up.
When you reach the Windows Advanced Options window.
Select - Safe Mode with Command Prompt.
Press Enter
At the command prompt window
Type:
%systemroot%\system32\restore\rstrui.exe
Press Enter.
Choose a date prior to your problem - restart the pc.
 

hr33pk

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 31, 2018
Messages
7
Thanks blues_harp28 for your reply. I already tried this but unfortunately it didn't work.
 
Joined
Sep 21, 2007
Messages
11,985
When you say XP stopped 'loading' , did you see an error message ? An error message is useful because we can only go by that to decipher a problem.
 

blues_harp28

Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
Jan 9, 2005
Messages
18,936
When you say XP stopped 'loading' , did you see an error message ?
Please answer the above question.

If there is no visible error message and you have the original install Cd.
Boot from the Xp install Cd - when prompted press [R]
Choose Windows installation [typically by pressing [1]
When prompted for password.
Press Enter.
Type
chkdsk /r
[note space after chkdsk]
Press Enter
Let it scan the pc.
When fininshed.
Type Exit
And press Enter.
 

hr33pk

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 31, 2018
Messages
7
No error message displayed .
I tried reinstalling the windows , it started to load drivers but then a blue screen appeared saying that a fatal error has occurred and windows stopped . So windows couldn't be installed .
 

hr33pk

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 31, 2018
Messages
7
OK, so following is the error message :
A problem has been detected and windows has been shut down to prevent damage to your computer if this is the first time you have seen this stop error screen restart your computer. If this screen appears again follow these steps
check to be sure you have adequate dick space if a driver is identified in the stop message disable the driver or check with the manufacturer for driver update. Try changing video adaptors.
check with your Hardware vendors for any BIOS update. Disable BIOS memory option such as caching or shadowing. If you need to use safe mode to remove or disable components , restart your computer, press F8 to select advanced start up options, and then select safe mode.
Technical information stop: 0x0000007E (0x0000005, 0x80809146,0xF89AF2DC, 0xF89AEFD8)
 

blues_harp28

Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
Jan 9, 2005
Messages
18,936
What is the make and model number of the pc?
How much ram do you have installed - I would remove all but one stick of ram and see if it will boot up or let you re-install xp?
Run a hard drive test.
SeaTools for DOS tutorial - ISO to CD
http://knowledge.seagate.com/articles/en_US/FAQ/201271en?language=en_US

https://www.megaleecher.net/Seagate_SeaTools_For_DOS_Bootable_USB_Maker_Kit
======
Run memtest
http://www.majorgeeks.com/files/details/memtest86.html
Download the ISO file then burn to a DVD
Start the Pc using the DVD and run the memory test overnight or for at least 8 passes.
It is best to run a full scan on individual Ram sticks if you can.
Or run the test but if any errors are shown - then remove all sticks of Ram - test each Ram stick one at a time and test them in different slots.

Guide to using Memtest.
http://www.wikihow.com/Test-PC-Ram-with-MemTest86
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top