1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Windows not loading

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by hr33pk, Dec 31, 2018.

Advertisement
  1. hr33pk

    hr33pk Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2018
    Messages:
    7
    Having windows xp sp3. Windows not loading. It loaded when I changed sata mode from RAID to AHCI, but mouse stopped working so had to change back to RAID.
    A while ago I changed the cmos battery . But this problem started even before changing the battery. Any help! What should I do now.
     
  2. lunarlander

    lunarlander

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2007
    Messages:
    9,209
    So do you need to get rid of raid ?
     
  3. hr33pk

    hr33pk Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2018
    Messages:
    7
    Actually I don't know much about RAID or AHCI. I just want my pc to start working normally.
     
  4. hr33pk

    hr33pk Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2018
    Messages:
    7
    I just want windows to start normally without any problem .
     
  5. blues_harp28

    blues_harp28 Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    18,508
    Hi, try a system restore.
    Re-start the pc and tap F8 as the pc is starting up.
    When you reach the Windows Advanced Options window.
    Select - Safe Mode with Command Prompt.
    Press Enter
    At the command prompt window
    Type:
    %systemroot%\system32\restore\rstrui.exe
    Press Enter.
    Choose a date prior to your problem - restart the pc.
     
  6. hr33pk

    hr33pk Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2018
    Messages:
    7
    Thanks blues_harp28 for your reply. I already tried this but unfortunately it didn't work.
     
  7. lunarlander

    lunarlander

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2007
    Messages:
    9,209
    When you say XP stopped 'loading' , did you see an error message ? An error message is useful because we can only go by that to decipher a problem.
     
  8. blues_harp28

    blues_harp28 Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    18,508
    Please answer the above question.

    If there is no visible error message and you have the original install Cd.
    Boot from the Xp install Cd - when prompted press [R]
    Choose Windows installation [typically by pressing [1]
    When prompted for password.
    Press Enter.
    Type
    chkdsk /r
    [note space after chkdsk]
    Press Enter
    Let it scan the pc.
    When fininshed.
    Type Exit
    And press Enter.
     
  9. hr33pk

    hr33pk Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2018
    Messages:
    7
    No error message displayed .
    I tried reinstalling the windows , it started to load drivers but then a blue screen appeared saying that a fatal error has occurred and windows stopped . So windows couldn't be installed .
     
  10. lunarlander

    lunarlander

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2007
    Messages:
    9,209
    Did it give an error code with the fatal error message? What is it?
     
  11. hr33pk

    hr33pk Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2018
    Messages:
    7
    OK, so following is the error message :
    A problem has been detected and windows has been shut down to prevent damage to your computer if this is the first time you have seen this stop error screen restart your computer. If this screen appears again follow these steps
    check to be sure you have adequate dick space if a driver is identified in the stop message disable the driver or check with the manufacturer for driver update. Try changing video adaptors.
    check with your Hardware vendors for any BIOS update. Disable BIOS memory option such as caching or shadowing. If you need to use safe mode to remove or disable components , restart your computer, press F8 to select advanced start up options, and then select safe mode.
    Technical information stop: 0x0000007E (0x0000005, 0x80809146,0xF89AF2DC, 0xF89AEFD8)
     
  12. hr33pk

    hr33pk Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2018
    Messages:
    7
    This appeared after I tried to reinstall the windows
     
  13. blues_harp28

    blues_harp28 Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    18,508
    What is the make and model number of the pc?
    How much ram do you have installed - I would remove all but one stick of ram and see if it will boot up or let you re-install xp?
    Run a hard drive test.
    SeaTools for DOS tutorial - ISO to CD
    http://knowledge.seagate.com/articles/en_US/FAQ/201271en?language=en_US

    https://www.megaleecher.net/Seagate_SeaTools_For_DOS_Bootable_USB_Maker_Kit
    ======
    Run memtest
    http://www.majorgeeks.com/files/details/memtest86.html
    Download the ISO file then burn to a DVD
    Start the Pc using the DVD and run the memory test overnight or for at least 8 passes.
    It is best to run a full scan on individual Ram sticks if you can.
    Or run the test but if any errors are shown - then remove all sticks of Ram - test each Ram stick one at a time and test them in different slots.

    Guide to using Memtest.
    http://www.wikihow.com/Test-PC-Ram-with-MemTest86
     
  14. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1221209

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice