windows only loads so far

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

marg44

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 12, 2004
Messages
24
When I start my computer up windows 98se will only load so far then I get a blue screen that says a fatal exception error has occured at 0167:0000009. The current application will be terminated then I goes back to list to run in safe mode but it just goes back to the blue screen any way to fix this. Bought computer from a private home business that sells computers and the guy that sold it but the setup disk on the hard drive anyway to retreive it and down load it again from C: mode?
 

JSntgRvr

José
Retired Moderator and Malware Specialist
Joined
Jul 1, 2003
Messages
18,552
Because there are many conditions that can cause a fatal exception error, the first step in resolving the issue is to narrow the focus. To narrow the focus, try a "clean boot" of your computer.


Restart your computer, press and hold down the CTRL key until you see the Windows 98 Startup menu, and then choose Safe Mode.


Test your computer in Safe mode. If the error does not occur, use the following steps to use the System Configuration utility to identify the program or driver that may be causing the error message.


If the problem does occur, there may be a problem with your Windows installation or you may be experiencing a symptom of faulty hardware.


After your computer restarts in Safe mode, use the System Configuration utility (Msconfig.exe) to minimize conflicts that may be causing the issue:

Click Start, point to Programs, point to Accessories, point to System Tools, and then click System Information.

On the Tools menu, click System Configuration Utility.
On the General tab, click Selective Startup, and then click to clear the following check boxes:

Process Config.sys File
Process Autoexec.bat File
Process Winstart.bat File (if available)
Process System.ini File
Process Win.ini File
Load Startup Group Items

Click OK, and then restart your computer typically when you are prompted. After you restart and test your computer, if you still do not experience the problem, continue with the next set of steps.


To identify the entry that is causing the problem:

Run the System Configuration utility again. Click to select one check box under Selective Startup, click OK, restart your computer, and then test.


Continue this process until you have selected all of the items under Selective Startup. If you select an item and the issue reoccurs, click the tab for the corresponding Selective Startup item, clear half of the check boxes, ( except for those clearly related for your mouse) click OK, and then restart your computer. Continue this process until you locate the setting that is causing the issue.
 

marg44

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 12, 2004
Messages
24
I can't my computer to run in safe mode. Only safe mode with commands then it goes to C: prompt but don't kmow what to type in can you help?

Thanks
 

JSntgRvr

José
Retired Moderator and Malware Specialist
Joined
Jul 1, 2003
Messages
18,552
Lets try to fix your registry first:

At the C: prompt type the following pressing Enter after each line:

cd windows
C:\Windows\Command\Scanreg /fix

After completion restart the computer. Let us know the outcome.
 

marg44

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 12, 2004
Messages
24
Hello me again after I typed all of that in it came up bad command or file name. Now what HELP!!!
 

JSntgRvr

José
Retired Moderator and Malware Specialist
Joined
Jul 1, 2003
Messages
18,552
At the prompt type the following:

Dir scanreg.exe /s

Press Enter. The computer will search for this command and will allow you to know its location, for example, Dir of C:\Windows\Command. Let me know its location.
 

marg44

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 12, 2004
Messages
24
Hello
Okay typed in dir scanreg.exe\s
And this is what came up
Volume in driveC is Drive_C
Volume Serial Number is 3F55-14DD
Directory of C:\WIN98
Scan EXE 165,502-04-23-99 6:22p
1 file(s) 165,502 bytes
Directory of C:\Windows\Command
Scanreg exe 165,502 04-23-99 6:22p
1 file(s) 165,505 bytes
Total files listed
2 files -331,004
0 dir(s)1,158,463,488 bytes.free
Hope this is what you wanted me to write down for you off the computer
Thanks for all your help.

Marg44
 

JSntgRvr

José
Retired Moderator and Malware Specialist
Joined
Jul 1, 2003
Messages
18,552
Directory of C:\Windows\Command
Scanreg exe 165,502 04-23-99 6:22p
1 file(s) 165,505 bytes
The command does exists. It is possible you used the wrong sintax. We are using two type of slash, the regular slash (/) and the back slash (\). The back slash is located under the F11 key. Also leave a space between Scangeg.exe and /Fix. Here we go again. At the prompt type the following pressing enter after each line:

C:
cd Windows
C:\Windows\Command\Scanreg.exe /Fix

Upon completion, restart the computer.
 

marg44

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 12, 2004
Messages
24
Hi
Okay this is what happened
went to window that sais
Repaing C:\Windows/System.DAT
Looking for valid system registry keys
checking system registry structure
rebuilbing system registry

Then says windows successfully fixed registry
ok
when pushed okay came up C:\Windows>
restarted computer and it still says fatal exception error at 0E has occured at 0167:0000009
 

JSntgRvr

José
Retired Moderator and Malware Specialist
Joined
Jul 1, 2003
Messages
18,552
Ok, let try stage 2. Fatal exceptions are ussually due to memory conflicts. If you have two memory modules installed, switch the modules around. The one in bank 1 to bank2, the one in bank2 to bank1. Lets try this as to discard the posibility that one of the memory modules may be malfuctioning. Make sure they are well seated.
 

marg44

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 12, 2004
Messages
24
Hello Again
Well can you explain to a dummy what you mean by the modules, I have no idea what you are talking about thanks for hanging in there with me. Hope we can get this fixed!
 

JSntgRvr

José
Retired Moderator and Malware Specialist
Joined
Jul 1, 2003
Messages
18,552
The memory modules are your RAM memory. A couple of memory sticks that are inserted in your motherboard.
 

marg44

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 12, 2004
Messages
24
Sorry couldn't find to sticks in the motherboard
Any thing eles I can try?

Marg44
 

JSntgRvr

José
Retired Moderator and Malware Specialist
Joined
Jul 1, 2003
Messages
18,552
Before going any further we need to know if the memory modules are the reason for this error message. If we go further and the cause is the memory modules, we will wasting our time.

Here is a graphic view of the Memory Modules location:

http://www.pcworld.com/howto/article/0,aid,18024,pg,3,00.asp

Most computers have one module, others two. If you only have one memory module, just reseat (Install and Uninstall) the module. I hope this helps.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top