1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

windows only loads so far

Discussion in 'Earlier Versions of Windows' started by marg44, Sep 12, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. marg44

    marg44 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2004
    Messages:
    24
    When I start my computer up windows 98se will only load so far then I get a blue screen that says a fatal exception error has occured at 0167:0000009. The current application will be terminated then I goes back to list to run in safe mode but it just goes back to the blue screen any way to fix this. Bought computer from a private home business that sells computers and the guy that sold it but the setup disk on the hard drive anyway to retreive it and down load it again from C: mode?
     
  2. JSntgRvr

    JSntgRvr Retired Moderator and Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2003
    Messages:
    18,552
    First Name:
    José
    Because there are many conditions that can cause a fatal exception error, the first step in resolving the issue is to narrow the focus. To narrow the focus, try a "clean boot" of your computer.


    Restart your computer, press and hold down the CTRL key until you see the Windows 98 Startup menu, and then choose Safe Mode.


    Test your computer in Safe mode. If the error does not occur, use the following steps to use the System Configuration utility to identify the program or driver that may be causing the error message.


    If the problem does occur, there may be a problem with your Windows installation or you may be experiencing a symptom of faulty hardware.


    After your computer restarts in Safe mode, use the System Configuration utility (Msconfig.exe) to minimize conflicts that may be causing the issue:

    Click Start, point to Programs, point to Accessories, point to System Tools, and then click System Information.

    On the Tools menu, click System Configuration Utility.
    On the General tab, click Selective Startup, and then click to clear the following check boxes:

    Process Config.sys File
    Process Autoexec.bat File
    Process Winstart.bat File (if available)
    Process System.ini File
    Process Win.ini File
    Load Startup Group Items

    Click OK, and then restart your computer typically when you are prompted. After you restart and test your computer, if you still do not experience the problem, continue with the next set of steps.


    To identify the entry that is causing the problem:

    Run the System Configuration utility again. Click to select one check box under Selective Startup, click OK, restart your computer, and then test.


    Continue this process until you have selected all of the items under Selective Startup. If you select an item and the issue reoccurs, click the tab for the corresponding Selective Startup item, clear half of the check boxes, ( except for those clearly related for your mouse) click OK, and then restart your computer. Continue this process until you locate the setting that is causing the issue.
     
  3. Cowboy622

    Cowboy622

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2001
    Messages:
    783
    Also tapping the F8 key during boot-up will get you to the safe mode choice,
     
  4. marg44

    marg44 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2004
    Messages:
    24
    I can't my computer to run in safe mode. Only safe mode with commands then it goes to C: prompt but don't kmow what to type in can you help?

    Thanks
     
  5. JSntgRvr

    JSntgRvr Retired Moderator and Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2003
    Messages:
    18,552
    First Name:
    José
    Lets try to fix your registry first:

    At the C: prompt type the following pressing Enter after each line:

    cd windows
    C:\Windows\Command\Scanreg /fix

    After completion restart the computer. Let us know the outcome.
     
  6. marg44

    marg44 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2004
    Messages:
    24
    Hello me again after I typed all of that in it came up bad command or file name. Now what HELP!!!
     
  7. JSntgRvr

    JSntgRvr Retired Moderator and Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2003
    Messages:
    18,552
    First Name:
    José
    At the prompt type the following:

    Dir scanreg.exe /s

    Press Enter. The computer will search for this command and will allow you to know its location, for example, Dir of C:\Windows\Command. Let me know its location.
     
  8. marg44

    marg44 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2004
    Messages:
    24
    Hello
    Okay typed in dir scanreg.exe\s
    And this is what came up
    Volume in driveC is Drive_C
    Volume Serial Number is 3F55-14DD
    Directory of C:\WIN98
    Scan EXE 165,502-04-23-99 6:22p
    1 file(s) 165,502 bytes
    Directory of C:\Windows\Command
    Scanreg exe 165,502 04-23-99 6:22p
    1 file(s) 165,505 bytes
    Total files listed
    2 files -331,004
    0 dir(s)1,158,463,488 bytes.free
    Hope this is what you wanted me to write down for you off the computer
    Thanks for all your help.

    Marg44
     
  9. JSntgRvr

    JSntgRvr Retired Moderator and Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2003
    Messages:
    18,552
    First Name:
    José
    The command does exists. It is possible you used the wrong sintax. We are using two type of slash, the regular slash (/) and the back slash (\). The back slash is located under the F11 key. Also leave a space between Scangeg.exe and /Fix. Here we go again. At the prompt type the following pressing enter after each line:

    C:
    cd Windows
    C:\Windows\Command\Scanreg.exe /Fix

    Upon completion, restart the computer.
     
  10. marg44

    marg44 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2004
    Messages:
    24
    Hi
    Okay this is what happened
    went to window that sais
    Repaing C:\Windows/System.DAT
    Looking for valid system registry keys
    checking system registry structure
    rebuilbing system registry

    Then says windows successfully fixed registry
    ok
    when pushed okay came up C:\Windows>
    restarted computer and it still says fatal exception error at 0E has occured at 0167:0000009
     
  11. JSntgRvr

    JSntgRvr Retired Moderator and Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2003
    Messages:
    18,552
    First Name:
    José
    Ok, let try stage 2. Fatal exceptions are ussually due to memory conflicts. If you have two memory modules installed, switch the modules around. The one in bank 1 to bank2, the one in bank2 to bank1. Lets try this as to discard the posibility that one of the memory modules may be malfuctioning. Make sure they are well seated.
     
  12. marg44

    marg44 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2004
    Messages:
    24
    Hello Again
    Well can you explain to a dummy what you mean by the modules, I have no idea what you are talking about thanks for hanging in there with me. Hope we can get this fixed!
     
  13. JSntgRvr

    JSntgRvr Retired Moderator and Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2003
    Messages:
    18,552
    First Name:
    José
    The memory modules are your RAM memory. A couple of memory sticks that are inserted in your motherboard.
     
  14. marg44

    marg44 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2004
    Messages:
    24
    Sorry couldn't find to sticks in the motherboard
    Any thing eles I can try?

    Marg44
     
  15. JSntgRvr

    JSntgRvr Retired Moderator and Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2003
    Messages:
    18,552
    First Name:
    José
    Before going any further we need to know if the memory modules are the reason for this error message. If we go further and the cause is the memory modules, we will wasting our time.

    Here is a graphic view of the Memory Modules location:

    http://www.pcworld.com/howto/article/0,aid,18024,pg,3,00.asp

    Most computers have one module, others two. If you only have one memory module, just reseat (Install and Uninstall) the module. I hope this helps.
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/273269

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice