1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

windows only opens in a "small "window mode

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by danlh4, Feb 11, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. danlh4

    danlh4 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.2
    OS Version: Microsoft Windows XP Home Edition, Service Pack 3, 32 bit
    Processor: Intel(R) Celeron(R) CPU 2.40GHz, x86 Family 15 Model 2 Stepping 9
    Processor Count: 1
    RAM: 510 Mb
    Graphics Card: Intel(R) 82845G/GL/GE/PE/GV Graphics Controller, 64 Mb
    Hard Drives: C: Total - 34506 MB, Free - 23043 MB;
    Motherboard: Dell Computer Corp., 0K5148
    Antivirus: AntiVir Desktop, Updated: Yes, On-Demand Scanner: Enabled

    windows opens in a "small "window mode and it's necessary to click on "Max" in upper right hand corner to properly size the screen. How do I set the computer to open windows in the max screen automatically?
     
  2. 1002richards

    1002richards Retired Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2006
    Messages:
    5,333
    Hi and welcome!

    Have you tried this with each application:
    "Grab" the corners of the window with your cursor and "stretch" it to the desired size but do not maximize it. Now close the resized window.
    The resized window must be the last window closed in order for its size to be remembered.


    I hope that works.


    Richard.
     
  3. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,252
    First Name:
    Wayne
    edited the post to add a relevant title
     
  4. danlh4

    danlh4 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2013
    Messages:
    4
     
  5. danlh4

    danlh4 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    Thanks Richard,
    Tried to resize as you suggested and it didn't solve the problem.
    Dan
     
  6. Phantom010

    Phantom010 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    34,796
    What application?
     
  7. hewee

    hewee

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2001
    Messages:
    57,791
    With Interney Explore you have to or used to have to hold the shift key down when you close it to remember and sometimes do it more then once.
     
  8. danlh4

    danlh4 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    Thanks Hewee,
    Tried suggested cures without success, so I called Microsoft Support who led me thryu steps to correct the problem.
    Thanks to all.
    Dan
     
  9. Phantom010

    Phantom010 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    34,796
    Would you care to tell us what was the fix? You haven't answered all questions. It's hard to find a solution with so few details.
     
  10. hewee

    hewee

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2001
    Messages:
    57,791
    Dan, we like to know so we can help others at the Help Forum.
    What was the program?
    What was the fix?
     
  11. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1089134

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice