1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Windows product activation......

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by puter hater, Jan 8, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. puter hater

puter hater Thread Starter

I was doing maintenance on my desk top and apparently I did something wrong. Must of deleted something important....

My Xp machine has been off for the last 2 days. Started it up this AM and it is stating...

Copy of windows must be activated before you log on. Do you want to activate now?

Just for the heck of it I said yes then it says "I'm already activated" and it shoots me back to the log on screen.

Which of coarse I can't log on because thin it goes back to ask to activate a machine I have been using for 3 years....

This is my Dell machine nothing illegal..

Please help..

thank you puter hater

2. ozrom1e

ozrom1e

If everything is legal then just go thru the steps to authenticate the computer and you should be fine. If you would care to find out before doing any of this please run and post the following:

Please download this from Microsoft and run it on your computer
    Filename = WGADiag2.exe
    http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?linkid=52012
    If the results are anything other than Genuine the answer is Illegal version
    Press "Copy to clipboard" and then you can paste to Wordpad and post to this thread
    Microsoft did introduce a program where they would replace a pirated copy of XP if it was unknowingly acquired and you will find the details of that offer at this link. I think the best thing for the member to do is to contact Microsoft and they may be able to help the member out.

http://www.microsoft.com/presspass/press/2005/jul05/07-25WGA1PR.mspx

3. puter hater