Windows restore.

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

l+Dark+l

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 21, 2002
Messages
103
I can't restore windows using the system restore. I just reinstalled windows and I had to restore windows to an earlier time and I can't.:( And I have another question. How can I delete the recently played music in windows media player?:mad:
 

Del

Joined
Aug 31, 2001
Messages
3,452
What happens when you go to Start > Programs > System Tools > System Restore? Does it not show any restore points?
 
Joined
Jun 1, 2002
Messages
335
We need a few more details to answer your windows question. For instances, which version of windows? Any updates? Etc.

As for Windows Media Player. Ya that last played list is a pain. I am sure some here could tell you the name of the data file so you could do it manually but here are to quick options that work.

1. I use Window Washer for all my privacy issues. It has hundreds of plug-ins for cleaning the recent history of a great many apps. But it costs $.

http://www.webroot.com/wb/index.php

2. Download Spybot Search and Destroy. This is primarly a spyware killer but it will also include a list of data files including such files that effect recent played lists in Windows Media Player as well as other apps. You can chose to delete these files as well as the any actual spyware that is sitting on your PC. It's is very fast, provides back-restore function, and is very safe if used reasonably. For more tips on this app try the Security section of this site.

http://beam.to/spybotsd
 

l+Dark+l

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 21, 2002
Messages
103
I'm running XP, it does what it usually does (reboots and says it's restoring) but when my computer reboots and I click on my name it says it can't be restored to that time..... Could it be from norton, zone alarm, ms office or corel word perfect?:confused:
 

Del

Joined
Aug 31, 2001
Messages
3,452
I've had very good results with system restore unless there was a hard ware change, then it seems not to be able to restore. Have you changed any hard ware?
 

l+Dark+l

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 21, 2002
Messages
103
I had to reinstall windows and after that I added aim,yahoo, zone alarm, norton and ms office and I deleted something outta my recycle bin and I needed it so I tried to restore it to earlier today and that's when I noticed I couldn't restore.:(
 
Joined
Jan 19, 2001
Messages
257
Are the restore points from before you reinstalled windows? Windows might not be able to restore to a point before the reinstall.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top