Windows Scheduler: failing

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Zenoxio

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 17, 2006
Messages
389
I have a task on Friday to open a playlist. Today, the task failed to go off. The status shows as "Could not start" and Last Result is 0x0. The playlist file is there (and can be opened), so that's not the problem. My computer was on... I don't know why it failed to go off.

I'm looking to find out two things. First, why it failed to go off. Second, how to not have it happen again (it's happened multiple times in the past).

Any ideas? This is important since it's my alarm.
 
Joined
Feb 14, 2004
Messages
1,657
Have you set a password for the account it is run under?
Check the log, for any clues. In Task Scheduler, click Advanced, View Log.


moper
 

Zenoxio

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 17, 2006
Messages
389
Nope, no password.

In the log:
Code:
"College Fri.job" (good.fpl) 2/9/2007 9:15:00 AM ** ERROR **
	Unable to start task.
	The specific error is:
	0x80070005: Access is denied.
	Try using the Task page Browse button to locate the application.
When I got up later in the day, and saw the error... I tried running the file. It ran just fine.
 
Joined
Feb 14, 2004
Messages
1,657
Unless you set a password , it won't run reliably.
After some system changes, permissions get changed to "Jobs" run in Scheduled Tasks. This may get it running again, temporarily. On the Settings tab for the task, select and apply and then deselect and apply any one of the boxes, then OK.


moper
 

Zenoxio

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 17, 2006
Messages
389
moper said:
Unless you set a password , it won't run reliably.
After some system changes, permissions get changed to "Jobs" run in Scheduled Tasks. This may get it running again, temporarily. On the Settings tab for the task, select and apply and then deselect and apply any one of the boxes, then OK.


moper
Well it ran fine yesterday. So you're saying I should set a password so it is more reliable?
 
Joined
Feb 14, 2004
Messages
1,657
Yes, possibly. I'll admit I can't find any definitive answer.
The username and password for the task only needs to be set if no user is logged in at the time the task is to run. But, if you check the "Run Only if Logged On" box, it will run only when you are logged on, even if you don't have a password.
Way back when XP first came out, Microsoft issued Article 311119.(see attachment) But it no longer exists on their website.
Then they issued Article 884573(see attachment). It, also does not exist anymore. Both claim that you need to set a password.
This thread deals with the same problem:http://www.pcreview.co.uk/forums/thread-2306660.php

Maybe it's the nature of the XP task scheduler. Vista promises a better version.
A major reliability obstacle in Windows XP was credentials management. Because credentials for tasks were stored locally, any update in domain or local passwords could invalidate tasks.
http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/windowsvista/aa906020.aspx


moper
 

Attachments

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top