Windows Update Error 0x80004005

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

pllobell

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 17, 2004
Messages
211
Hey All-

I get the following while trying to do Windows Updates:

====
Code:
[Error number: 0x80004005]

The website has encountered a problem and cannot display the page you are trying to view. The options provided below might help you solve the problem. 
For self-help options: 

Frequently Asked Questions

Find Solutions

Windows Update Newsgroup 
For assisted support options: 

Microsoft Online Assisted Support (no-cost for Windows Update issues)
====

I've searched all over and done the suggestions from the following page: http://forums.techguy.org/windows-n...te-error-0x80004005.html?highlight=0x80004005

I'm running Media Center and it's genuine:

====
Code:
Diagnostic Report (1.5.0555.0):
-----------------------------------------
WGA Data-->
Validation Status: Genuine
Windows Product Key: *****-*****-D2R7C-PBP3Y-B4G7M
Windows Product Key Hash: f1XvCFHavvybMcKYhNfsHQFgAmI=
Windows Product ID: 69831-640-1780577-45389
Windows Product ID Type: 1
Windows License Type: Volume
Windows OS version: 5.1.2600.2.00010100.2.0.med
ID: a463132c-192e-46c5-96ec-4ca2ff3dfc94
Is Admin: Yes
AutoDial: No
Registry: 0x0
WGA Version: Registered, 1.5.723.1
Signed By: Microsoft
Validation Diagnostic: 025D1FF3-222-80004005_025D1FF3-429-80004005_025D1FF3-269-80004005
Resolution Status: N/A

System Scan Data--> 
Scan: Complete
Cryptography: Complete

Notifications Data-->
Cached Result: N/A
File Exists: No
Version: N/A
WgaTray.exe Signed By: N/A, hr = 0x80070002
WgaLogon.dll Signed By: N/A, hr = 0x80070002

OGA Data-->
Office Status: 109
Office Diagnostics: B4D0AA8B-528-645_7E90FEE8-194-80004005

Browser Data-->
Proxy settings: N/A
User Agent: Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 7.0; Win32)
Default Browser: C:\PROGRA~1\MOZILL~1\FIREFOX.exe
Download signed ActiveX controls: Prompt
Download unsigned ActiveX controls: Disabled
Run ActiveX controls and plug-ins: Allowed
Initialize and script ActiveX controls not marked as safe: Disabled
Allow scripting of Internet Explorer Webbrowser control: Disabled
Active scripting: Allowed
Script ActiveX controls marked as safe for scripting: Allowed

File Scan Data-->
File Mismatch: c:\windows\system32\winlogon.exe

Other data-->
Office Details: <GenuineResults><MachineData><UGUID>a463132c-192e-46c5-96ec-4ca2ff3dfc94</UGUID><Version>1.5.0555.0</Version><OS>5.1.2600.2.00010100.2.0.med</OS><PKey>*****-*****-*****-*****-B4G7M</PKey><PID>69831-640-1780577-45389</PID><PIDType>1</PIDType><SID>S-1-5-21-2025429265-1425521274-725345543</SID><SYSTEM><Manufacturer>ASUSTeK Computer INC.</Manufacturer><Model>A7N8X-E</Model></SYSTEM><BIOS><Manufacturer>Phoenix Technologies, LTD</Manufacturer><Version>ASUS A7N8X-E Deluxe ACPI BIOS Rev 1013 </Version><SMBIOSVersion major="2" minor="2"/><Date>20041112000000.000000+000</Date></BIOS><HWID>57E7366F0184AE7F</HWID><UserLCID>0409</UserLCID><SystemLCID>0409</SystemLCID><TimeZone>Eastern Standard Time(GMT-05:00)</TimeZone></MachineData>  	<Software><Office><Result>109</Result><Products/></Office></Software></GenuineResults>
====

I also get this problem when I try to update Windows Defender.


Thanks!

PJ
 
Joined
Feb 10, 2006
Messages
968
Try the following:

1. Reboot your computer into "Safe Mode".

2. Go to Start > Run and type: %systemroot%\system32 then press the Enter key.

3. Locate these two files: wpa.dbl and wpa.bak

4. Rename the wpa.dbl file to wpaold.dbl and wpa.bak to wpaold.bak

5. Reboot your computer into Normal mode.
 

pllobell

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 17, 2004
Messages
211
I just gave that a shot. Still getting the same error.

I didn't have the file "wpa.bak" only had wpa.dbl.

Thanks for the suggestion, any others?
 
Joined
Apr 5, 2005
Messages
739
Control Panel=>Administrative tools=>services
Is the "Automatic updates" service startup type set to automatic ?
 

Frank4d

Retired Trusted Advisor
Joined
Sep 10, 2006
Messages
9,126
Unless you are the same persons who posted these:
http://forums.microsoft.com/Genuine/ShowPost.aspx?PostID=997532&SiteID=25
http://forums.microsoft.com/Genuine/ShowPost.aspx?PostID=913964&SiteID=25
http://forums.microsoft.com/Genuine/ShowPost.aspx?PostID=975005&SiteID=25
your copy of XP is not genuine or has been used too many times.

If you believe you are a victim of software piracy you can contact the vendor you purchased the OS from or contact Microsoft:
http://www.microsoft.com/piracy/Reporting_FAQ.mspx
 
Joined
May 9, 2007
Messages
1
new here
have the same error problem when trying to search for updates in windows update site
i tried all of the solutions here and tried search in google and microsoft help site
but nothing.

what to do?
:eek:
 
Joined
Feb 2, 2008
Messages
1
One solution is to rollback to the system restore point set by Windows Update and then retry the update operation.
 
Joined
May 23, 2007
Messages
730
Basically what that error means is that a problem is preventing Windows Update from accurately checking the license for this computer.
Yes, it could be a problem with your product activation (WPA) or your Windows Genuine Advantage ; but it could also just mean that a firewall (often having both software and hardware firewalls can cause this so if you have a router try turning off all software firewalls for the update) or antivirus is blocking the communication or that your time setting is incorrect (Check the date , time and time zone of the clock in system tray)
Even a slow network connection could cause this
http://support.microsoft.com/kb/842289


Another approach is to use firefox instead of IE and use this mirror site
http://windowsupdate.62nds.com/
See if it too has the error.
[q]Browser Data-->
Proxy settings: N/A
User Agent: Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 7.0; Win32)
Default Browser: C:\PROGRA~1\MOZILL~1\FIREFOX.exe[/q]
Are you trying to use Firefox to go to windows update? If so try with IE.


Also this
File Scan Data-->
File Mismatch: c:\windows\system32\winlogon.exe
Makes me wonder if you have or recently had a smitfraud or similar virus which blocks Windows Update to prevent installation and run of the Malicious Software Removal Too.
I also get this problem when I try to update Windows Defender.
Yep I would definitely have a malware expert review your Hijackthis log.

If you click this link
http://download.windowsupdate.com/v7/windowsupdate/redir/wuredir.cab
Do you get a file download from windows update or do you get redirected to some strange site?
Do you by any chance have a folder
C:\windows\system32\wu*.*
on your system?
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Top