1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Windows Update Error 0x80004005

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by pllobell, Jan 26, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. pllobell

    pllobell Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2004
    Messages:
    211
    Hey All-

    I get the following while trying to do Windows Updates:

    ====
    Code:
    [Error number: 0x80004005]
    
    The website has encountered a problem and cannot display the page you are trying to view. The options provided below might help you solve the problem. 
    For self-help options: 
    
    Frequently Asked Questions
    
    Find Solutions
    
    Windows Update Newsgroup 
    For assisted support options: 
    
    Microsoft Online Assisted Support (no-cost for Windows Update issues) 
    ====

    I've searched all over and done the suggestions from the following page: http://forums.techguy.org/windows-n...te-error-0x80004005.html?highlight=0x80004005

    I'm running Media Center and it's genuine:

    ====
    Code:
    Diagnostic Report (1.5.0555.0):
    -----------------------------------------
    WGA Data-->
    Validation Status: Genuine
    Windows Product Key: *****-*****-D2R7C-PBP3Y-B4G7M
    Windows Product Key Hash: f1XvCFHavvybMcKYhNfsHQFgAmI=
    Windows Product ID: 69831-640-1780577-45389
    Windows Product ID Type: 1
    Windows License Type: Volume
    Windows OS version: 5.1.2600.2.00010100.2.0.med
    ID: a463132c-192e-46c5-96ec-4ca2ff3dfc94
    Is Admin: Yes
    AutoDial: No
    Registry: 0x0
    WGA Version: Registered, 1.5.723.1
    Signed By: Microsoft
    Validation Diagnostic: 025D1FF3-222-80004005_025D1FF3-429-80004005_025D1FF3-269-80004005
    Resolution Status: N/A
    
    System Scan Data--> 
    Scan: Complete
    Cryptography: Complete
    
    Notifications Data-->
    Cached Result: N/A
    File Exists: No
    Version: N/A
    WgaTray.exe Signed By: N/A, hr = 0x80070002
    WgaLogon.dll Signed By: N/A, hr = 0x80070002
    
    OGA Data-->
    Office Status: 109
    Office Diagnostics: B4D0AA8B-528-645_7E90FEE8-194-80004005
    
    Browser Data-->
    Proxy settings: N/A
    User Agent: Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 7.0; Win32)
    Default Browser: C:\PROGRA~1\MOZILL~1\FIREFOX.exe
    Download signed ActiveX controls: Prompt
    Download unsigned ActiveX controls: Disabled
    Run ActiveX controls and plug-ins: Allowed
    Initialize and script ActiveX controls not marked as safe: Disabled
    Allow scripting of Internet Explorer Webbrowser control: Disabled
    Active scripting: Allowed
    Script ActiveX controls marked as safe for scripting: Allowed
    
    File Scan Data-->
    File Mismatch: c:\windows\system32\winlogon.exe
    
    Other data-->
    Office Details: <GenuineResults><MachineData><UGUID>a463132c-192e-46c5-96ec-4ca2ff3dfc94</UGUID><Version>1.5.0555.0</Version><OS>5.1.2600.2.00010100.2.0.med</OS><PKey>*****-*****-*****-*****-B4G7M</PKey><PID>69831-640-1780577-45389</PID><PIDType>1</PIDType><SID>S-1-5-21-2025429265-1425521274-725345543</SID><SYSTEM><Manufacturer>ASUSTeK Computer INC.</Manufacturer><Model>A7N8X-E</Model></SYSTEM><BIOS><Manufacturer>Phoenix Technologies, LTD</Manufacturer><Version>ASUS A7N8X-E Deluxe ACPI BIOS Rev 1013 </Version><SMBIOSVersion major="2" minor="2"/><Date>20041112000000.000000+000</Date></BIOS><HWID>57E7366F0184AE7F</HWID><UserLCID>0409</UserLCID><SystemLCID>0409</SystemLCID><TimeZone>Eastern Standard Time(GMT-05:00)</TimeZone></MachineData>  	<Software><Office><Result>109</Result><Products/></Office></Software></GenuineResults>
    ====

    I also get this problem when I try to update Windows Defender.


    Thanks!

    PJ
     
  2. cgesicki

    cgesicki

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2006
    Messages:
    968
    Try the following:

    1. Reboot your computer into "Safe Mode".

    2. Go to Start > Run and type: %systemroot%\system32 then press the Enter key.

    3. Locate these two files: wpa.dbl and wpa.bak

    4. Rename the wpa.dbl file to wpaold.dbl and wpa.bak to wpaold.bak

    5. Reboot your computer into Normal mode.
     
  3. pllobell

    pllobell Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2004
    Messages:
    211
    I'll give that a try. Thanks!
     
  4. pllobell

    pllobell Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2004
    Messages:
    211
    I just gave that a shot. Still getting the same error.

    I didn't have the file "wpa.bak" only had wpa.dbl.

    Thanks for the suggestion, any others?
     
  5. TheDude5555

    TheDude5555

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2006
    Messages:
    125
    Is there any chance you have not activated your copy of Windows yet?

    If that is the problem there is a KB article that addresses troubleshooting it.
    http://support.microsoft.com/kb/916247
     
  6. cgesicki

    cgesicki

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2006
    Messages:
    968
  7. dobbelina

    dobbelina

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    739
    Control Panel=>Administrative tools=>services
    Is the "Automatic updates" service startup type set to automatic ?
     
  8. Frank4d

    Frank4d Retired Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2006
    Messages:
    9,126
    Unless you are the same persons who posted these:
    http://forums.microsoft.com/Genuine/ShowPost.aspx?PostID=997532&SiteID=25
    http://forums.microsoft.com/Genuine/ShowPost.aspx?PostID=913964&SiteID=25
    http://forums.microsoft.com/Genuine/ShowPost.aspx?PostID=975005&SiteID=25
    your copy of XP is not genuine or has been used too many times.

    If you believe you are a victim of software piracy you can contact the vendor you purchased the OS from or contact Microsoft:
    http://www.microsoft.com/piracy/Reporting_FAQ.mspx
     
  9. noam1979

    noam1979

    Joined:
    May 9, 2007
    Messages:
    1
    new here
    have the same error problem when trying to search for updates in windows update site
    i tried all of the solutions here and tried search in google and microsoft help site
    but nothing.

    what to do?
    :eek:
     
  10. fred10538

    fred10538

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    1
    One solution is to rollback to the system restore point set by Windows Update and then retry the update operation.
     
  11. oshwyn5

    oshwyn5

    Joined:
    May 23, 2007
    Messages:
    730
    Basically what that error means is that a problem is preventing Windows Update from accurately checking the license for this computer.
    Yes, it could be a problem with your product activation (WPA) or your Windows Genuine Advantage ; but it could also just mean that a firewall (often having both software and hardware firewalls can cause this so if you have a router try turning off all software firewalls for the update) or antivirus is blocking the communication or that your time setting is incorrect (Check the date , time and time zone of the clock in system tray)
    Even a slow network connection could cause this
    http://support.microsoft.com/kb/842289


    Another approach is to use firefox instead of IE and use this mirror site
    http://windowsupdate.62nds.com/
    See if it too has the error.
    [q]Browser Data-->
    Proxy settings: N/A
    User Agent: Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 7.0; Win32)
    Default Browser: C:\PROGRA~1\MOZILL~1\FIREFOX.exe[/q]
    Are you trying to use Firefox to go to windows update? If so try with IE.


    Also this
    Makes me wonder if you have or recently had a smitfraud or similar virus which blocks Windows Update to prevent installation and run of the Malicious Software Removal Too.
    Yep I would definitely have a malware expert review your Hijackthis log.

    If you click this link
    http://download.windowsupdate.com/v7/windowsupdate/redir/wuredir.cab
    Do you get a file download from windows update or do you get redirected to some strange site?
    Do you by any chance have a folder
    C:\windows\system32\wu*.*
    on your system?
     
  12. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/538688

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice