1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Windows Update error code

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by jssch, Oct 29, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. jssch

    jssch Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2000
    Messages:
    472
    Windows 7 Professional Service Pack 1

    I have been trying unsuccessfully to do all of the helps to get Windows Update to check for updates and install. I tried all of the Fixit and Windows Update Troubleshooter batch files, etc. I thought I was making headway this morning when it said updates would install on the next shutdown. So I shutdown. Looks like 57 updates had a failed status. When I ran the check for updates again, I get the following error code:
    C80003FA

    I googled and really only found the same help items I have already tried, the fixit's etc.

    Thanks for any help you can give me.
     
  2. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    78,492
    First Name:
    Frank
    We know nothing about your computer, other than it's running Windows 7 Professional SP1, so do the following in it.
    Download and save the TSG System Information Utility (SysInfo.exe) to the desktop.
    After it's been downloaded and saved, double-click it to run it.
    Information about your computer will appear.
    Return here to your thread, then copy-and-paste the ENTIRE text here.

    --------------------------------------------------------------
     
  3. jssch

    jssch Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2000
    Messages:
    472
    Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.2
    OS Version: Microsoft Windows 7 Professional, Service Pack 1, 32 bit
    Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo CPU T7500 @ 2.20GHz, x64 Family 6 Model 15 Stepping 11
    Processor Count: 2
    RAM: 3581 Mb
    Graphics Card: NVIDIA Quadro NVS 135M, 128 Mb
    Hard Drives: C: Total - 152341 MB, Free - 116728 MB; E: Total - 15259 MB, Free - 9929 MB;
    Motherboard: Dell Inc.,
    Antivirus: AVG AntiVirus Free Edition 2014, Updated and Enabled
     
  4. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    78,492
    First Name:
    Frank
    You appear to have a Dell brand computer.
    What model name and model number is it?
    What's the exact "service tag" number and/or "express service code" number on it?

    ----------------------------------------------------------------
     
    Last edited: Oct 29, 2015
  5. jssch

    jssch Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2000
    Messages:
    472
    It is actually a refurbished Dell Latitude D630 Laptop

    Service Tag: 1BSSMG1
    Express Service Code: 2890274977
     
  6. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    78,492
    First Name:
    Frank
    Here is the Dell support site that's assigned only to your Dell Latitude D630 laptop.
    You might want to add and save this site in your browser's favorites/bookmarks list so you can quickly refer to it when needed.
    According to its original system configuration section, it came with Windows XP Professional SP2 and included an upgrade license for Windows Vista Business 32-bit.

    You say you bought it refurbished with Windows 7 Professional 32-bit already installed in it?
    Does it have a refurbished Certificate-Of-Authenticity sticker on it with that Windows version?
    Did it come with a built-in factory restore partition or with an actual Windows 7 Professional reinstallation disc?

    How long have you been having trouble with Windows updates?

    --------------------------------------------------------------
     
  7. jssch

    jssch Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2000
    Messages:
    472
    Yes. We are a small school and purchased around 20 of these refurbished laptops. It does have the COA sticker. It came with Win 7 Pro already installed. When we broke them out for the first time. I did have to authenticate Windows.

    Had no problems with updates before. They did sit idle during the summer and I was actually getting this one ready to go into a classroom, so was making sure everything was up to date. I have had trouble with several of the others, but after trying various fixes, update started working. This one has been stubborn.
     
  8. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    78,492
    First Name:
    Frank
    Thanks for the clarification.
    I really don't know what to advise you about that one laptop.

    ---------------------------------------------------------------
     
  9. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1158921

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice