1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Windows Update Fails, Component Store Corrupt, No Restore Point

Discussion in 'Windows 8' started by tkrh, Apr 25, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. tkrh

    tkrh Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2015
    Messages:
    4
    Hi there, so for the last couple months I've been having this problem where Windows Update fails and returns one error or another. I've run DISM and SFC and DISM returns 14098.

    My computer was having other problems before this started, the clock resetting itself back to the beginning of the hour I rebooted on, every hour, and refusing to restart when the lid was closed. Trying to fix those problems I did a refresh on my laptop, when they continued to persist I did a factory reset. At this point the lid closing and clock problems seem to have resolved themselves but WinUpdate no longer works, at all. The last time it was able to pull down updates it got stuck at 44% then failed, and the time before that it got stuck in a loop while trying to install the updates for about 2 hours where it would reboot to install them, fail to do so, reset to before they were installed and start all over again.

    These problems started on March 2nd this year. (I remember because I had just moved and the problems started immediately after I started using my laptop in the new location.)

    Attemtped the fix listed in this thread as well and when I checked for updates I received error 8024a000. Ran Windows Update Diagnostic troubleshooter and was told problems were fixed, checked for updates and received error 80073712.



    Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.2
    OS Version: Microsoft Windows 8, 64 bit
    Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-3210M CPU @ 2.50GHz, Intel64 Family 6 Model 58 Stepping 9
    Processor Count: 4
    RAM: 6031 Mb
    Graphics Card: Intel(R) HD Graphics 4000, -1984 Mb
    Hard Drives: C: Total - 693434 MB, Free - 503909 MB; D: Total - 953835 MB, Free - 396428 MB;
    Motherboard: ASUSTeK COMPUTER INC., Q500A
    Antivirus: Windows Defender, Disabled

    ^ This says Windows Defender but I use Avast free
    Is there anything that I can do other than reinstalling Win 8?
     
  2. Tabvla

    Tabvla

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    2,554
    Hi TKRH, welcome to the TSG Forums.... :D

    When you reply could you please indicate your level of experience - somewhere between Novice and Guru.

    The two articles below may be helpful in resolving your issue. However, you may not be too happy after you have read them. Fixing a corrupt Component Store seems to be a real pain. Hopefully someone on this Forum can provide an easier solution.

    https://social.technet.microsoft.com/Forums/windows/en-US/d126a392-1491-4371-962c-1d1269806aff/win-81-pro-dism-online-cleanupimage-restorehealth-returns-error-14098?forum=w8itprogeneral

    http://www.eightforums.com/tutorials/26512-dism-fixing-component-store-corruption-windows-8-a.html

    T.
     
  3. tkrh

    tkrh Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2015
    Messages:
    4
    Thanks for the welcome :). My mom has had me on computers since I was 3 years old (22 now), I took a class in Java, know some HTML and can semi-navigate command prompt but I would consider myself waaaaaay closer to novice than guru.

    I've actually come across those two articles multiple times in trying to fix this problem, and I either just really don't understand them (highly likely) or they don't actually help me. Leaning more toward not understanding them. If I were still back home I would have taken the laptop to a family member or his friend at the first sign of the problem and let them fix it rather than messing with it myself.
     
  4. tkrh

    tkrh Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2015
    Messages:
    4
    Not sure if this helps at all but:
     

    Attached Files:

  5. Tabvla

    Tabvla

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    2,554
    Thanks for the Screenshot. Based on that information it appears as if the Component Store in this case is not repairable. Why that should be the case I really don't know.

    The Component Store is a critical part of the Windows OS. If it is corrupt then all manner of services simply won't run. The repair utility in DISM usually does the job and the reason for this is because the Component Store is not a single database but there are multiple instances of it which would normally imply that whichever bit of it is corrupt it could be reloaded from elsewhere within the system.

    Have you run "chkdsk"...? Could there be a bad sector on your HDD...?

    T.
     
  6. tkrh

    tkrh Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2015
    Messages:
    4
    First SS is the chkdsk return

    The following two are something I've noticed a few times, and had happen earlier, clock is visible in both of these but the clock has done its looping issue again, as these pictures were taken about 10 - 30 minutes apart, not 2, and it is currently 7:22 AM local time.
     

    Attached Files:

  7. Macboatmaster

    Macboatmaster Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    21,187
    There are three issues here to deal with before you stand any chance of sorting this
    The reason that the Deployment Imaging Servicing cmd cannot work is because windows updates are not working
    The online dism cmd restore health relies on downloads from windows updates/Microsoft files database to repair the component store.
    Important When you run this command, DISM uses Windows Update to provide the files that are required to fix corruptions.


    Please do not be annoyed but it is likely to be a long job, with no guarantee of success.


    I would greatly appreciate your assurance that you wish to proceed on what - from the details I have read is likely to take some considerable number of posts.


    If you do wish to go ahead here are the three first details of what you should do.


    1. From your screenshot
    sby_loader


    Unless I am mistaken a sure fire way to acquire unwanted software. Not what you think you are downloading, but the malware possibly attached to it
    IF I have the WRONG sby_loader then I apologise


    UN-Install it using programs and features if it appears there - that is from Control Panel


    2. AVAST Free has caused a number of problems on Windows 8, including problems with windows updates

    Uninstall that from Programs and features
    REBOOT
    Check that Windows Defender is enabled and updated
    Run a quick scan with Defender.
    If it finds anything allow it to clean it
    REBOOT


    3. Download the FREE Malwarebytes
    Although you are downloading the free one it is still necessary to opt out of the free trial of the paid for edition
    The opt out is in the installation process
    https://www.malwarebytes.org/mwb-download/


    the download you want is to the right of the window on the link
    When you have it installed and DO remember please to OPT OUT of the free trial, update it, that will probably be automatic and run a threat scan
    Allow it to quarantine what is found.
    REBBOT
    Open Malwarebytes again and - click the history tab, on the left pane click application logs and then selecting the scan log open it and click to copy
    Then paste it here as the actual log please


    4. Re the Homegroup icon
    Homegroup is installed automatically with windows 8, but the icon should not appear unless you have configured 8 to join a homegroup

    Creating a homegroup

    When you set up a PC with Windows 8.1 or Windows RT 8.1, a homegroup is created automatically and on windows 8

    The link below is below is for info ONLY
    Please do NOT make the changes at this stage
    http://www.thewindowsclub.com/remove-homegroup-icon-windows-8-desktop
     
  8. Tabvla

    Tabvla

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    2,554
    Hi Macboatmaster, that is a very interesting comment. If I understand what you have written correctly, you are implying that DISM will only work if the user is connected to the Internet - or am I misunderstanding this...?

    T.
     
  9. Macboatmaster

    Macboatmaster Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    21,187
    PM just in case OP responds to topic, so we do not take up too many posts
    Yes it does use updates in default mode, but perhaps I should clarify
    ONLINE does not refer to the connection
    ONLINE refers to the current loaded OS but if it is the current loaded OS then yes it uses windows updates files from Microsoft servers, and as well as files found in backups etc and various parts of system
    If the offline cmd is used that means not a currently loaded OS
    comprehensive doc in PM
     
  10. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1147216

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice