Solved Windows update keeps failing

rhoag

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 2, 2005
Messages
154
I have been running into this problem for about a week, but the computer seems to be running fine otherwise. The Net Framework 3.5 & 4.8 21Hi x64 #KB5004331 keeps ending up as a failure with the error 0x80073712. I have retried this over and over and it does the same thing. It gave me an alternative to use KB5004296, but that also ended up as a failure. I attached screen shots of the notices


Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.9
OS Version: Microsoft Windows 10 Home, 64 bit, Build 19043, Installed 20200807213151.000000-480
Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-3770 CPU @ 3.40GHz, Intel64 Family 6 Model 58 Stepping 9, CPU Count: 8
Total Physical RAM: 16 GB
Graphics Card: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1660
Hard Drives: C: 465 GB (76 GB Free); D: 931 GB (363 GB Free); F: 230 GB (226 GB Free);
Motherboard: Gigabyte Technology Co., Ltd. Z68A-D3H-B3
System: Award Software International, Inc., ver GBT - 42302e31
Antivirus: Norton Security Online, Enabled and Updated
 

Attachments

flavallee

Frank
Trusted Advisor
Joined
May 12, 2002
Messages
84,057
According to your log, you're using a third-party antivirus app (Norton) with Windows 10.
Windows 10 can have various issues when a third-party antivirus app is used.
Windows updates failing to install is one of them.
That's why it's recommended to stick with Windows 10's built-in antivirus app (Windows Security).

-------------------------------------------------
 

managed

Allan
Moderator
Joined
May 24, 2003
Messages
15,612
You can safely continue without installing these updates; they are 'preview' updates and will be superseded by later updates.
 

managed

Allan
Moderator
Joined
May 24, 2003
Messages
15,612
Sorry Frank, I didn't see your post before I posted mine.

rhoag : If you try to remove/disable Norton as Frank (flavallee) implied the updates could work afterwards.
 

rhoag

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 2, 2005
Messages
154
Guys, I uninstalled all traces of Norton 360 beginning of the year when Comcast Xfinity informed me that they will no longer be giving it away anymore free and are switching over to their server based protection, so I don't have it installed on my PC at all. It was uninstalled and all files related to it were deleted. Locally I am using Windows 10 security/virus and firewall; it shows in my tray and see the screenshot I took of the window that it opens too.
When I run the techguy system info it shows Norton, I don't know why it does that???
 

Attachments

rhoag

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 2, 2005
Messages
154
Thanks, Frank, I already did that earlier this year when I uninstalled all of the Norton 360.
 

DR.M

Malware Specialist
Joined
Sep 4, 2019
Messages
2,154
Hi, All.

Let me add my recommendation on this.

1. Run Deployment Image Servicing and Management (DISM)
  • Click on the Start button and in the search box, type Command Prompt
  • When you see Command Prompt on the list, right-click on it and select Run as administrator
  • Enter the command below and press on Enter;
Code:
DISM /Online /Cleanup-Image /RestoreHealth
  • Let the scan run until the end (100%). Depending on your system, it can take some time.

2. When DISM finishes, you can then run SFC from the same command prompt window, but full instructions as if starting fresh:
  • Click on the Start button and in the search box, type Command Prompt
  • When you see Command Prompt on the list, right-click on it and select Run as administrator
  • Enter the command below and press on Enter
Code:
sfc /scannow
  • Let the scan finish.
  • You will normally get one of the following results:
    Code:
    Windows Resource Protection did not find any integrity violations
    Windows Resource Protection found corrupt files and successfully repaired them
    Windows Resource Protection found corrupt files but was unable to fix some of them
    Windows Resource Protection could not perform the requested operation
  • Please post the result you got.

3. Reset Windows Update Components

Try Method 2 here

After the above, try to update again and let us know the result.
 

rhoag

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 2, 2005
Messages
154
3. Reset Windows Update Components

Try Method 2 here

After the above, try to update again and let us know the result.
The SFC scan "Resource Protection did not find any integrity violations"
I'll move on to step 3 and let you know, thank you
 

DR.M

Malware Specialist
Joined
Sep 4, 2019
Messages
2,154
Thanks for letting us know. I'll be waiting for your reply.
 

rhoag

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 2, 2005
Messages
154
Thanks for letting us know. I'll be waiting for your reply.
Unfortunately, I went through the 8 of 9 methods listed on this excellent APPULAS site, but none of them fixed the problem. https://appuals.com/error-code-800f0922-on-windows-7-8-1/ I didn't run his Method 9 because it looked too risky.

I kept getting the pop up about using Restoro, so I DL'd it from their website and ran the app... it's very impressive and listed multiple problems that could be fixed if you buy it, so I forked out the $41.95 that is guaranteed and supposedly includes tech support and I ran the app. When it finished I suddenly got a warning in the tray Windows Security and when I opened it I found that a adware program, PUA: Win32/Presenoker was caught. I ran Restoro again and I ended up with a second Win Security system catch, PUA: WIN32/Reimage a malware program. I called Restoro twice at 11am and was told someone would call me back in 5 minutes, it's almost 3pm now and I've had no call backs. I ended up deleting the two caught programs and uninstalled Restoro. I went on their site and filled out the forms for a refund with the reason why. I also noticed that none of the many entries for "Norton" in the registry were fixed by Restoro, so I'm pretty disappointed in that product.
I guess I'm just going to quit worrying about the Netframework 3.5 & 4.8 update, it doesn't seem to be affecting anything that I've noticed so far.
Unless someone has some other ideas, thanks all for the attempts to help.
 

DR.M

Malware Specialist
Joined
Sep 4, 2019
Messages
2,154
BUT WHY DID YOU DO ALL THAT!

1. I told you to try Method 2, to reset Windows Update components, not everything suggested in the article, which is dealing with a completely different error than yours!

2. Restoro indeed is a potentially unwanted program! You could ask before downloading and paying for that! Although you uninstalled it, there are still remnants in your computer and it needs to be cleaned.

I really don't have anything to suggest you right now, rather than post at the Malware Removal Forum to check your computer...
 
Last edited:

rhoag

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 2, 2005
Messages
154
BUT WHY DID YOU DO ALL THAT!

1. I told you to try Method 2, to reset Windows Update components, not everything suggested in the article, which is dealing with a completely different error than yours!
You said to run the DISM and SFC which is Method 4 on Appuals site and I did it and I said in post 11 above that the SFC then didn't find any problems. I then told you I would move on to your step 3 which is Appuls Method 2 Resetting the Win Update component. You referred me to the Appuls site method 2 so I tried method 2 and the rest of his methods and none worked, which I told you in post 13. I take screen shots of most of what I do, I attached the appuls method 2 and 4 that I ran below.

2. Restoro indeed is a potentially unwanted program! You could ask before downloading and paying for that! Although you uninstalled it, there are still remnants in your computer and it needs to be cleaned.
I figured the site was safe with your recommendation and the Restoro kept popping up on their site. I did a search online and all I could find were positive reviews, including Microsoft, so I gave it a try.

I really don't have anything to suggest you right now, rather than post at the Malware Removal Forum to check your computer...
Thank you, I'll take a look at that, I think the MS security caught it and I deleted it, but I'll check further.
I really do appreciate all your help
 

Attachments

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 2)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top