Windows Update

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

coolwip20

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 3, 2004
Messages
9
PLEASE HELP???

I have had multiple problems with my computer since purchasing it from a friend. Had I known of the problems before I purchased it I would have saved my money. However, my first repeat problem is; I'll be working on the computer and all of the sudden it will shut off and begin restarting without any warning. When it restarts it always gives me a error saying something like "your computer just recovered from a fatal error".

I talked with a couple people and they mentioned a few things:

1) Power Supply - (Which I have already replaced)
2) Video Card
3) Faulty Memory - (I found out that I have 2 - 256MB chips but they are different brands. Why they purchased two different brands is beyond me. Anyways, I ran a memory diagnostic test [which was recommended by Microsoft when my computer shut off and restarted with an error] on my computer and out of 6 tests, 1 repeatedly fail. It was called LRAND. Any who, I was told to pull one chip out and run it for a bit and see if things were OK, and swamp vis versa. I have not tried this yet as Florida has not had the best of luck with these damn hurricanes. This is my next attempt to figuring out my problem).


My second problem is: my computer no longer downloads WINDOWS UPDATES. I go to Microsoft website and choose Windows Updates and it never goes past the first screen. It says:

"Checking for the latest version of the Windows Update software...

Depending on your connection speed, this might take a minute. During this time, you may receive one or more security warnings. Review each security warning to ensure that the content is signed by Microsoft and then click Install or Yes to install the software."


and never goes any further. I have XP Home and I tried to change my settings and they are not where Microsoft said they should be. I was told to go to control panel, switch to category view, click on performance and maintenance, click on systems and click on Automatic Updates (which should be the 7th tab, but I only have 6 tabs). So I switched it back to Classic View and I see Automatic Updates. However, when I try that route it takes me to the web but never goes past the previous screen mentioned above.

What is going on??? Can anyone help me???

Your help is greatly appreciated. I am at my whit’s end.

Coolwip20
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,471
you seem to know your way around OK.
i would certainly go with the memory ideas HOWEVER,
if you goto
Start
control panel
system
advanced tab
startup and recovery settings
untick the auto restat
now when it crashes you will get a blue screen with lots of info

post the fulll contents of blue screen - stop codes and filenames

stopcodes are here
http://www.aumha.org/win5/kbestop.htm
and crash info here
http://oca.microsoft.com/en/windiag.asp

i dont think different brands a problem I have three - providing the specification is the same IE speed etc

these programs will identify hardware - maybe worth running and posting results for advice on the different memory you have

The program is freeware called EVEREST Home Edition v1.10 and can be downloaded from http://www.lavalys.com/index.php?page=product&view=1&subpage=5
or http://www.belarc.com
 
Joined
Oct 18, 2002
Messages
730
Looking through you event log may bring something to light also a fresh install may solve some of the problems due to mismatched files or spyware.
 

coolwip20

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 3, 2004
Messages
9
Dear ETAF,

Thanks for the helpful suggestions. I did your first one concerning the auto restart and I did have a blue screen come up with the following STOP CODES (I don't know what they mean):

0x0000008E (0xC0000005, 0X80526A8A,0xBA6DA73C,0x00000000)

It also said to make sure to have adequate disk space. If a driver is identified in the stop message disable the driver or check with the manufacture for driver updates. It also said to try changing video adapters (what is that and how do I do that?).

I also downloaded Everest and I found out things about my computer that I did not know but I am unsure what you wanted or suggested me to do with that program. The one thing I thought about downloading was an updated driver for my BIOS but I don't want to screw up my computer anymore than it is.

As far as the Windows update, I have not had any luck. I spoke with someone at work today and he told me to empty my cache. I did and Nada, I can not get it to scan my computer: 33%, 66%, and so on. I was also reading on the Internet that someone else was having the same problem with windows update but someone replied sending them to Microsoft's Troubleshoot website. I did what they said "disable firewall". I was only using the one found under my network connections, but I disabled it and refreshed "windows update" and still nothing.

Do you have anymore suggestions???

Coolwip20
 

coolwip20

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 3, 2004
Messages
9
Dear Doggard,

When I purchased my computer my mother and I wiped the computer clean and reloaded everything including the operating system. After our fresh start we tried to crash the machine, but it worked like a champ until I got it home and started using it. Anyways through talking with her, she (who is an IT person at our local university) thinks it is a memory problem. However, we have not had the time to sit down and go through the machine again so I am left trying to figure it out.

I have also downloaded and ran "Ad ware 6" to get rid of all spyware. I did not have much once I ran it through, besides I am not a big downloader off the internet.

How do I check the event log? And what will that tell me?

Coolwip20
 
Joined
May 6, 2004
Messages
1,929
coolwip20, Try downloading this and running it:
http://www.majorgeeks.com/download3155.html

Create a folder on your hard drive somewhere like in "My Documents" or in My Programs but NOT on the desktop or in a temporary folder. That creates problems if you do. and name it Hijackthis unzip'Hijack This to that folder.

Doubleclick HijackThis.exe, and hit "Scan".

When the scan is finished, the "Scan" button will change into a "Save Log"
button. Press that, save the log, load it in Notepad, and copy its contents here. Most of what it lists will be harmless or even essential, DO NOT fix anything yet.

Also run a copy of AdAware SE: http://www.majorgeeks.com/download506.html Click Check for Problems and when the scan is finished let AdAware fix/remove all it finds
.
And Spybot: http://www.majorgeeks.com/download2471.html Click Check for Problems and when the scan is finished let Spybot fix/remove all it finds marked in RED.

Restart your computer, post another Hijack This log. Someone who can read the log will be able to help you. Liz
 

coolwip20

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 3, 2004
Messages
9
Dear Southernlady,

Below you will find the log for HiJack This:

Logfile of HijackThis v1.98.2
Scan saved at 7:56:05 AM, on 9/9/2004
Platform: Windows XP SP1 (WinNT 5.01.2600)
MSIE: Internet Explorer v6.00 SP1 (6.00.2800.1106)

Running processes:
C:\WINDOWS\System32\smss.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\winlogon.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\services.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\lsass.exe
C:\WINDOWS\System32\Ati2evxx.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\svchost.exe
C:\WINDOWS\System32\svchost.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\LEXBCES.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\system32\LEXPPS.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\system32\spoolsv.exe
C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\ccEvtMgr.exe
C:\WINDOWS\System32\CTsvcCDA.EXE
C:\Program Files\Common Files\Microsoft Shared\VS7Debug\mdm.exe
C:\Program Files\Norton AntiVirus\navapsvc.exe
C:\Program Files\Norton AntiVirus\AdvTools\NPROTECT.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\System32\svchost.exe
C:\WINDOWS\System32\MsPMSPSv.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\Ati2evxx.exe
C:\WINDOWS\Explorer.EXE
C:\Program Files\BroadJump\Client Foundation\CFD.exe
C:\Program Files\Support.com\bin\tgcmd.exe
C:\Program Files\ATI Technologies\ATI Control Panel\atiptaxx.exe
C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\ccApp.exe
C:\WINDOWS\System32\devldr32.exe
C:\WINDOWS\System32\ctfmon.exe
C:\Program Files\3M\PSNLite\PsnLite.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\ntvdm.exe
C:\Program Files\Trillian\trillian.exe
C:\PROGRA~1\3M\PSNLite\PSNGive.exe
C:\Program Files\Internet Explorer\iexplore.exe
C:\Program Files\Messenger\msmsgs.exe
C:\PROGRA~1\WINZIP\winzip32.exe
C:\Documents and Settings\Jeanine\Local Settings\Temp\HijackThis.exe

R0 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Start Page = http://hometab.bellsouth.net/
O2 - BHO: AcroIEHlprObj Class - {06849E9F-C8D7-4D59-B87D-784B7D6BE0B3} - C:\Program Files\Adobe\Acrobat 6.0\Reader\ActiveX\AcroIEHelper.dll
O2 - BHO: NAV Helper - {BDF3E430-B101-42AD-A544-FADC6B084872} - C:\Program Files\Norton AntiVirus\NavShExt.dll
O3 - Toolbar: &Radio - {8E718888-423F-11D2-876E-00A0C9082467} - C:\WINDOWS\System32\msdxm.ocx
O3 - Toolbar: Norton AntiVirus - {42CDD1BF-3FFB-4238-8AD1-7859DF00B1D6} - C:\Program Files\Norton AntiVirus\NavShExt.dll
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [BJCFD] C:\Program Files\BroadJump\Client Foundation\CFD.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [tgcmd] "C:\Program Files\Support.com\bin\tgcmd.exe" /server /startmonitor /deaf
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [ATIPTA] C:\Program Files\ATI Technologies\ATI Control Panel\atiptaxx.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [ccApp] "C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\ccApp.exe"
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [ccRegVfy] "C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\ccRegVfy.exe"
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Advanced Tools Check] C:\PROGRA~1\NORTON~1\AdvTools\ADVCHK.EXE
O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [ctfmon.exe] C:\WINDOWS\System32\ctfmon.exe
O4 - Startup: PowerReg Scheduler V3.exe
O4 - Startup: Text for the Day.lnk = C:\Program Files\TRU\DayText.exe
O4 - Startup: Trillian.lnk = ?
O4 - Global Startup: Microsoft Office.lnk = C:\Program Files\Microsoft Office\Office10\OSA.EXE
O4 - Global Startup: Post-it® Software Notes Lite.lnk = C:\Program Files\3M\PSNLite\PsnLite.exe
O8 - Extra context menu item: E&xport to Microsoft Excel - res://C:\PROGRA~1\MICROS~2\Office10\EXCEL.EXE/3000
O9 - Extra button: Messenger - {FB5F1910-F110-11d2-BB9E-00C04F795683} - C:\Program Files\Messenger\MSMSGS.EXE
O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Windows Messenger - {FB5F1910-F110-11d2-BB9E-00C04F795683} - C:\Program Files\Messenger\MSMSGS.EXE
O16 - DPF: {0A5FD7C5-A45C-49FC-ADB5-9952547D5715} (Creative Software AutoUpdate) - http://www.creative.com/su/ocx/12119/CTSUEng.cab
O16 - DPF: {0E5F0222-96B9-11D3-8997-00104BD12D94} (PCPitstop Utility) - http://www.pcpitstop.com/pcpitstop/PCPitStop.CAB
O16 - DPF: {6414512B-B978-451D-A0D8-FCFDF33E833C} (WUWebControl Class) - http://v5.windowsupdate.microsoft.c...ls/en/x86/client/wuweb_site.cab?1093054121575
O16 - DPF: {F6ACF75C-C32C-447B-9BEF-46B766368D29} (Creative Software AutoUpdate Support Package) - http://www.creative.com/su/ocx/15008/CTPID.cab

What does this mean??

Coolwip20
 
Joined
Apr 1, 2003
Messages
12
coolwip20 said:
PLEASE HELP???

My second problem is: my computer no longer downloads WINDOWS UPDATES. I go to Microsoft website and choose Windows Updates and it never goes past the first screen. It says:

"Checking for the latest version of the Windows Update software...

Depending on your connection speed, this might take a minute. During this time, you may receive one or more security warnings. Review each security warning to ensure that the content is signed by Microsoft and then click Install or Yes to install the software."


and never goes any further. I have XP Home and I tried to change my settings and they are not where Microsoft said they should be. I was told to go to control panel, switch to category view, click on performance and maintenance, click on systems and click on Automatic Updates (which should be the 7th tab, but I only have 6 tabs). So I switched it back to Classic View and I see Automatic Updates. However, when I try that route it takes me to the web but never goes past the previous screen mentioned above.

What is going on??? Can anyone help me???

Your help is greatly appreciated. I am at my whit’s end.

Coolwip20

I was having this exact problem myself a couple of weeks ago.
I found the answer here:

http://groups-beta.google.com/group...eneral/browse_thread/thread/d67bdbc6676744b5/

From Torgeir Bakken (MVP):

"Please try this:

Click Start >> Run >>

Type the follow command in the Open box.
"net.exe stop wuauserv" (w/o quotes)
Press Ok

Repeat the same for the following commands:

regsvr32.exe wuapi.dll
regsvr32.exe wups.dll
regsvr32.exe wuaueng.dll
regsvr32.exe wucltui.dll
regsvr32.exe MSXML3.dll
net.exe start wuauserv

Now try the WU site again."

I know it did the trick for me. (y)
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top