1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

windows updates

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by Hog883, Aug 16, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Hog883

    Hog883 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    Hi there I hope someone can help me. I am runnind windows7 Pro, sp1. I have just realized that I am not getting any updates, so I tried to do them manualy. When I try this i get a message to say windows could not search for new updates. An erroe ocured while checking for new updates errors found error code 80073712. windows update encoundered an unknown error. I have searched the web for this problem & the solution seems to be to run my windows instalation disc & run upgrade, I have tried this but when I get to click on upgrade it says the windows installed on my pc is newer that that I am trying to upgrade from. I do hope someone can help me as its driving me mad. Cheers & thanks in advance Reg:confused:
     
  2. Davey7549

    Davey7549

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2001
    Messages:
    11,584
    Hog883, Welcome to TSG!

    Have a look at this Microsoft KB article 957310 and see if it helps with your problem.
    Let us know if it helps.

    Dave
     
  3. Hog883

    Hog883 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    Hi I have read this done 1,2, 3 wont work & 4 is the update it wont allow me to run. Cheers Reg
     
  4. black-wolf

    black-wolf

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    Messages:
    2,820
  5. Hog883

    Hog883 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    Thanks for that have done all listed but still the same. Cheers Reg
     
  6. black-wolf

    black-wolf

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    Messages:
    2,820
  7. hssonline

    hssonline

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2006
    Messages:
    167
    rename %Windows%\SoftwareDistribution' to 'SoftwareDistribution.old'.
    -restart your computer.
    -after restart ---go to run type services.msc and restart windows update service.
    -try installing updates again
     
  8. Hog883

    Hog883 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.2
    OS Version: Microsoft Windows 7 Professional, Service Pack 1, 32 bit
    Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Quad CPU Q8200 @ 2.33GHz, x64 Family 6 Model 23 Stepping 7
    Processor Count: 4
    RAM: 3071 Mb
    Graphics Card: NVIDIA GeForce 7100 / NVIDIA nForce 630i, 256 Mb
    Hard Drives: C: Total - 600238 MB, Free - 158410 MB;
    Motherboard: Packard Bell BV, MCP73PVT-PM
    Antivirus: AVG Anti-Virus Free Edition 2012, Updated and Enabled
    Hope this helps Cheers
     
  9. black-wolf

    black-wolf

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    Messages:
    2,820
  10. Hog883

    Hog883 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    IfI try to rename the software distribution folder it says it cant as something is using or running in it
     
  11. Hog883

    Hog883 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    Can i move this whole conversation int malware. Cheers Reg
     
  12. black-wolf

    black-wolf

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    Messages:
    2,820
  13. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1065350