1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Windows Vista - Can connect to WiFi using 1 profile, but not the other

Discussion in 'Networking' started by pbtn, Jan 3, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. pbtn

    pbtn Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    I am somewhat tech savvy, but I need help figuring this one out as I'm not at the level as most of the folks I see on here:eek:

    I have a Gateway laptop running Windows Vista, and on Vista you can setup multiple profiles. Myself and another person use this laptop for personal use.

    We have WiFi at home, and either profile connects fine to our wireless network at home. When I take it out to a public WiFi however, only the other person's profile can find the network and connect to it.

    When I login to my profile, the connectivity icon in the bottom right shows WiFi networks are available, but when I try to connect, it says that none were found. I try to connect through windows, setting up a new network, etc. . . and nothing is available.

    Of course when I get home and login into my profile, it connects with no problem.

    This is becming a huge hassle, please help!! Thanks
     
  2. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    78,513
    First Name:
    Terry
    Please show ...

    Start, Run, CMD, OK to open a command prompt:
    (For Vista or 7 type CMD in the Search box after Start)

    Type the following command:

    IPCONFIG /ALL

    [Note that there is no space between the slash and ALL.]

    Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter.
    Paste the results in a message here.

    If necessary use a text file and removable media to copy the results to a computer with internet access.
     
  3. pbtn

    pbtn Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Windows IP Configuration
    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Home-PC
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : Belkin
    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection 2:
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : Belkin
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek RTL8187 Wireless 802.11b/g 54Mbps
    USB 2.0 Network Adapter #2
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-C0-A8-CF-EA-85
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::b511:2a03:319:7a85%11(Preferred)
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.2(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Monday, January 03, 2011 7:22:43 PM
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Friday, February 10, 2147 3:28:05 PM
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.1
    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 201375912
    DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-0D-64-7D-63-00-E0-B8-C2-EE-62
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.1
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled
    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:
    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : domain_not_set.invalid
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Marvell Yukon 88E8038 PCI-E Fast Ethernet
    Controller
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-E0-B8-C4-28-7B
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 6:
    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.domain_not_set.invalid
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 7:
    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : 6TO4 Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 9:
    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 02-00-54-55-4E-01
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 11:
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : Belkin
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #2
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::5efe:192.168.2.2%18(Preferred)
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.1
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled
     
  4. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    78,513
    First Name:
    Terry
    That is a good connection to your Belkin router at home, right? If so, I suspect a non-Windows firewall or security suite that is configured to trust your wireless network but no others.
     
  5. pbtn

    pbtn Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    That would make sense, I use Norton 360 Suite on my computer, but I use and manage it from my profile, so maybe it only restricts my profile but not the other?

    So I'm assuming I should check the settings on Norton. I'll try that and report back. THANKS!
     
  6. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    78,513
    First Name:
    Terry
    Yeah, check Norton's settings. If necessary uninstall it and run Symantec's Norton Removal Tool. Be sure that you save your Product key--see that link--so that you can reinstall it after testing.
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/972455

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice