Windows Vista Wont Connect to Internet

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

jcfoster09

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 30, 2010
Messages
4
My hardrive recently crashed on my Windows Vista. I ran the boot disk on the alternate hard drive i had and I cannot connect to the internet via ethernet cord. Do I need do download a certain driver for vista to recognize this LAN to use the internet?
Thank you.
 

TheShooter93

Cody
Malware Specialist
Joined
Jul 9, 2008
Messages
11,250
What is the make and model of the problem PC?

---------------------------------------------

Click Start

In the search bar type devmgmt.msc and hit Enter

Click the + next to the pane Network Adapters so it expands, showing all installed hardware.

Take a screenshot of this window and attach the file in your next post.

To post a screen shot of the active window, hold the Alt key and press the PrtScn key. Open the Windows PAINT application and Paste the screen shot. You can then use PAINT to trim to suit, and save it as a JPG format file. To upload it to the forum, open the full reply window and use the Manage Attachments button to upload it here.
 

TheShooter93

Cody
Malware Specialist
Joined
Jul 9, 2008
Messages
11,250
According to that screenshot, everything should be in working order.

------------------------------------------

Start, Run, CMD, OK to open a command prompt:
(For Vista or 7 type CMD in the Search box after Start)

Type the following command:

IPCONFIG /ALL

[Note that there is no space between the slash and ALL.]


Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter.
Paste the results in a message here.

------------------------------------------

Also, there should be a specific model number of some sort, not just "IdeaCentre K series."

Can you supply that information in your next post?
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
80,936
Probably a defective NIC, cable, or whatever is at the other end of the cable (modem? router?). Does the ethernet LED light on the computer or other device?
 

jcfoster09

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 30, 2010
Messages
4
Yes they do. The internet works when I plug the ethernet cable into my laptop, but not with the desktop
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
80,936
The "Media Disconnected" in the ipconfig /all means that as far as Windows is concerned there is no cable connected. Could the NIC be "turned off" to save power? That can happen on some computers, especially laptops (but you have a desktop, right?), if the computer is booted before the cable is connected.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top