1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Windows Vista Wont Connect to Internet

Discussion in 'Networking' started by jcfoster09, Dec 30, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. jcfoster09

    jcfoster09 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    My hardrive recently crashed on my Windows Vista. I ran the boot disk on the alternate hard drive i had and I cannot connect to the internet via ethernet cord. Do I need do download a certain driver for vista to recognize this LAN to use the internet?
    Thank you.
     
  2. TheShooter93

    TheShooter93 Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Messages:
    11,242
    First Name:
    Cody
    What is the make and model of the problem PC?

    ---------------------------------------------

    Click Start

    In the search bar type devmgmt.msc and hit Enter

    Click the + next to the pane Network Adapters so it expands, showing all installed hardware.

    Take a screenshot of this window and attach the file in your next post.

    To post a screen shot of the active window, hold the Alt key and press the PrtScn key. Open the Windows PAINT application and Paste the screen shot. You can then use PAINT to trim to suit, and save it as a JPG format file. To upload it to the forum, open the full reply window and use the Manage Attachments button to upload it here.
     
  3. jcfoster09

    jcfoster09 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Its a Lenovo IdeaCentre K series.
    Here is what you asked for:
     

    Attached Files:

  4. TheShooter93

    TheShooter93 Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Messages:
    11,242
    First Name:
    Cody
    According to that screenshot, everything should be in working order.

    ------------------------------------------

    Start, Run, CMD, OK to open a command prompt:
    (For Vista or 7 type CMD in the Search box after Start)

    Type the following command:

    IPCONFIG /ALL

    [Note that there is no space between the slash and ALL.]


    Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter.
    Paste the results in a message here.

    ------------------------------------------

    Also, there should be a specific model number of some sort, not just "IdeaCentre K series."

    Can you supply that information in your next post?
     
  5. jcfoster09

    jcfoster09 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    I cannot find the model number. Will keep searching for it.
     

    Attached Files:

  6. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    78,225
    First Name:
    Terry
    Probably a defective NIC, cable, or whatever is at the other end of the cable (modem? router?). Does the ethernet LED light on the computer or other device?
     
  7. jcfoster09

    jcfoster09 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Yes they do. The internet works when I plug the ethernet cable into my laptop, but not with the desktop
     
  8. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    78,225
    First Name:
    Terry
    The "Media Disconnected" in the ipconfig /all means that as far as Windows is concerned there is no cable connected. Could the NIC be "turned off" to save power? That can happen on some computers, especially laptops (but you have a desktop, right?), if the computer is booted before the cable is connected.
     
  9. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/971680

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice