1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Windows Vista x64 Questions

Discussion in 'Windows Vista' started by IgneousPrime, Feb 13, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. IgneousPrime

IgneousPrime Thread Starter

Hey guys, I'm planning to buy Windows Vista Ultimate and I'm planning to initially install it as a 64-bit OS. I have NEVER tried a 64-bit OS before, and I would love to see what it can do, but are there any major downsides to it? I have an AMD 4200+ X2 Dual Core processor right now with 2 gigs of ram, so I'm pretty sure I can run it and everything, my only concern is, is it backwards compatible with the normal 32-bit software?

I do a lot of Photoshop, Premiere, Illustrator, Flash, etc and stuff like that since I'm in school right now, and on my free time play a ton of games such as World of Warcraft, Graw, Splinter Cell, Rainbow Six, etc etc. Basically, I just wanna make sure the OS runs fine with all of these things, and if it does, will there be a noticeable speed increase and such?

I currently own an Asus A8N-SLi Deluxe motherboard and I've seen drivers and such that support 64-bit (just gotta install it) and I also have a 2x 7900 GT's which also have drivers from Nvidia that support 64-bit (include chipset drivers, video, etc).

So I've researched a little bit and my hardware shouldn't be a problem, just want to know if I'm going come across something disastrous in the future, lol.

Thanks in advance guys, I'll check for replies tomorrow, I'm goin' to bed *snore*

2. IgneousPrime

Small bump :D

3. Triple6

Triple6 Moderator

First Name:
    Rob