1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

windows was unable to connect to (network name)

Discussion in 'Networking' started by lostguy23, Apr 5, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. lostguy23

    lostguy23 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2015
    Messages:
    8
    Hi all

    I am using windows 7 and browsed internet regarding this problem for almost a week now. Any help is highly appreciated. Other windows 7 laptops and mobiles are connected to the network and running well.
    No problems detected with Network adapters in Device Manager.

    Here's the result of ipconfig /all :

    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7601]
    Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

    C:\Users\xxxx>ipconfig /all

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : xxxx-HP
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Mixed
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection 2:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft Virtual WiFi Miniport Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 7C-E9-D3-AE-93-F3
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Ralink RT5390 802.11b/g/n WiFi Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 7C-E9-D3-AE-93-F2
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Ethernet adapter Bluetooth Network Connection 2:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Bluetooth Network Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : C0-18-85-DE-A6-4F
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek PCIe FE Family Controller
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 80-C1-6E-45-F4-FE
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter isatap.{D2F570A5-E5AA-4F3A-980A-3E5BEFA11F6F}:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 14:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter isatap.{2BDA25AA-CE5F-41A8-9A88-3F79ED26DDC7}:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #2
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter isatap.{54DCDD46-0125-4630-8593-C61C3E567C91}:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #3
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter isatap.{8F1DC043-E186-4EB6-912B-529EC332522A}:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #6
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes


    Result of ipconfig /release and ipconfig /renew :

    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7601]
    Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

    C:\Users\xxxx>ipconfig /release

    Windows IP Configuration

    No operation can be performed on Wireless Network Connection while it has its me
    dia disconnected.
    No operation can be performed on Bluetooth Network Connection 2 while it has its
    media disconnected.
    No operation can be performed on Local Area Connection while it has its media di
    sconnected.

    Tried restarting the router a number of times.
    Tried resetting WINSOCK,IPv4 TCP/IP stack and IPv6 TCP/IP stack - but no use.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,371
    First Name:
    Wayne
    what are you trying to connect to
    wireless
    or
    LAN

    what router are you connecting to?
    any other pcs connected to the router and working
     
  3. lostguy23

    lostguy23 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2015
    Messages:
    8
    I am trying to connect to wifi...network is detected but unable to connect after providing security key...all other laptops and phones are working fine...mydlink is the router..
     
  4. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,371
    First Name:
    Wayne
    can you connect with a cable to the router - just to test it works OK
     
  5. lostguy23

    lostguy23 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2015
    Messages:
    8
    yes..i took out the input to the router and inserted into my laptop...internet access is there in that case
     
  6. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,371
    First Name:
    Wayne
    what happens when you connect with wireless

    you see the wireless on the list
    you choose to connect
    it asks you for the password
    you enter password
    it connects
    and you get internet access

    at what point does it not follow those steps ?

    do a tcp/ip reset

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------

    TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Vista - Windows 7 - Windows 8 and Windows 10

    For Windows Vista through to Windows 10
    Start> Programs> Accessories> and right click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt box (A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on the screen ):​

    For Windows 8
    To open a Cmd Prompt or an Administrator Cmd prompt from the Desktop. Use Win + X and choose Command Prompt or Command Prompt (Admin) from the list.​

    In the command prompt window that opens, type the following commands:

    Note: Type only the text in bold and red for the following commands.

    • Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults: netsh winsock reset catalog and press enter
    • Reset IPv4 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv4 reset reset.log and press enter
    • Reset IPv6 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv6 reset reset.log and press enter
    ReStart (reboot) the machine.

    If you receive the message
    The requested operation requires elevation.
    Then please open the command prompt as administrator - as requested above
    Start> Programs> Accessories> and right click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt box (A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on screen ):
    Please note and post back - if you receive the following message :-
    Access is Denied
    This often occurs with windows 8

    please post back the results in a reply here - its important we know that these commands have worked correctly and not produced any errors
    right click in the command prompt box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste

    Details also here
    http://support.microsoft.com/kb/299357
    also the link has a Microsoft Fix it , which will do the above for you

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  7. lostguy23

    lostguy23 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2015
    Messages:
    8
    Thanks for your timely reply...
    After entering password windows displays message "Windows was unable to connect to xxxx network".

    I have already mentioned that I did a tcp/ip reset in my initial post.
    Anyways, I have done it again and here are the results.

    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7601]
    Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

    C:\Users\xxxx>netsh winsock reset catalog

    Sucessfully reset the Winsock Catalog.
    You must restart the computer in order to complete the reset.


    C:\Users\xxxx>netsh int ipv4 reset reset.log
    Reseting Global, OK!
    Reseting Interface, OK!
    Reseting Unicast Address, OK!
    Restart the computer to complete this action.


    C:\Users\xxxx>netsh int ipv6 reset reset.log
    Reseting Interface, OK!
    Restart the computer to complete this action.
     
  8. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,371
    First Name:
    Wayne
    remove the wireless password from the router
    and see if you connect
     
  9. lostguy23

    lostguy23 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2015
    Messages:
    8
    I can only restart the router...it is a common router in my building and I dont have access to its credentials...moreover other win 7 and win 8 laptops are working fine with the same router...
     
  10. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,371
    First Name:
    Wayne
    shame , that can often resolve the issue when the password is put back on

    - try safemode with networking (sometimes wireless does not work with safemode )

    For Windows 8 - see below

    For other windows version, XP,Vista, W7 as the PC starts keep tapping F8 - a menu appears - choose
    safemode with networking - see if that works

    For windows 8

    http://www.7tutorials.com/5-ways-boot-safe-mode-windows-8-windows-81
    http://windows.microsoft.com/en-gb/windows-8/windows-startup-settings-including-safe-mode
    http://pcsupport.about.com/od/windows-8/ss/windows-8-safe-mode.htm
     
  11. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    79,611
    First Name:
    Terry
    Install or reinstall the latest wireless driver from the PC manufacturer's web site.

    Were you ever able to connect to said wireless network with this computer?
     
  12. lostguy23

    lostguy23 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2015
    Messages:
    8
    Tried safe mode with networking...didn' t work...it keeps saying WINDOWS WAS UNABLE TO CONNECT...

    Yes..I did use the network till a month back...since then it showed this issue...
    Tried uninstalling and installing back the Ralink RT5390 802.11b/g/n WiFi Adapter latest version...no use...
     
  13. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,371
    First Name:
    Wayne
    if a laptop or mobile device - see if it will work at a cafe/library or other wifi hotspot

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------

    Uninstall and allow windows to re-install the adapter and Driver
    goto the device manager > Network Adapters > click on the [+] to show all the adapters

    right click on the adapter and from the menu

    remove/uninstall the adapter

    Now restart the pc and allow windows to detect new hardware and re install the adapter and the driver
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------

    otherwise

    all i can think to do now is reset the router as suggested - see if you can connect to it with no password
     
  14. lostguy23

    lostguy23 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2015
    Messages:
    8
    Windows was not able to connect to any wifi at all...its detecting them but not connecting.
     
  15. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,371
    First Name:
    Wayne
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1146031

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice