1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Windows wont load \$Windows-BT\Windows\System32\winload.efi

Discussion in 'Windows 8' started by Jellyblood, Sep 22, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Jellyblood

    Jellyblood Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2014
    Messages:
    13
    this is a previous post on your site i have a similar problem with a few differences:

    ''Hi all

    Short version is that I bought a new Hp laptop with pre-installed Windows 8. Didn't like W8 for many reasons so tried to install windows 7 according to guided installation instructions from a techie site google took me to. The installation stopped after 30 minutes, referring to a driver issue I believe, and I had to revert to loading up using Windows 8 again to get out of the dos error screen.

    Now the system tells me how I get (inconsistent) blue screens although I don't physically see a blue screen, and every day I boot up, it reverts to the 'Windows Boot Manager' screen, telling me a recent hardware or software change has resulted in something missing, damaged, etc.

    Additional message when in the Boot Manager reads:

    File: \$Windows-BT\Windows\System32\winload.efi
    Status: 0xc0000428
    Info: the digital signature for this file could not be verified.

    Although Im not an expert, it seems to me that the file path mentioned above relates to the part installation of windows 7 - if so, how can I remove the part installation, clean the system up, and reluctantly return to W8?

    [btw - unable to get help from Windows or Samsung so far] ""

    My problem is the same as this person except I can not log into windows at all. All i get is HP with a little loading spiral at the bottom i left it alone for 2 days on and it never loaded windows. I was able to get to a command propt by pressing F8 when the computer starts, going to repair computer, then troubleshoot, then advanced setting and got this info:

    Windows Boot Manager
    --------------------
    identifier {bootmgr}
    device partition=\Device\HarddiskVolume2
    path \EFI\Microsoft\Boot\bootmgfw.efi
    description Windows Boot Manager
    locale en-US
    inherit {globalsettings}
    default {default}
    resumeobject {2bd8a43b-efb5-11e2-9839-dd9e53a4fce2}
    displayorder {7254a080-1510-4a85-ac0f-e7fb3d444763}
    {default}
    toolsdisplayorder {memdiag}
    timeout 3

    Windows Setup
    -------------
    identifier {7254a080-1510-4a85-ac0f-e7fb3d444763}
    device partition=C:
    path \$WINDOWS.~BT\Windows\system32\winload.efi
    description Windows Setup
    locale en-US
    inherit {bootloadersettings}
    osdevice partition=C:
    systemroot \$WINDOWS.~BT\Windows
    nx OptOut
    detecthal Yes
    winpe Yes

    Windows Boot Loader
    -------------------
    identifier {default}
    device partition=C:
    path \windows\system32\winload.efi
    description Windows 8
    locale en-US
    inherit {bootloadersettings}
    recoverysequence {Current}
    recoveryenabled Yes
    isolatedcontext Yes
    allowedinmemorysettings 0x15000075
    osdevice partition=C:
    systemroot \windows
    resumeobject {2bd8a43b-efb5-11e2-9839-dd9e53a4fce2}
    nx OptIn
    bootmenupolicy Standard

    C:\windows\system32>

    please help me
     
  2. CleaverX

    CleaverX

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2012
    Messages:
    1,323
    Hello, if you did not destroy the recovery partition during your botched install of Windows 7, you should simply use the applicable hot key during boot and restore the computer to out of box condition.
    If you did destroy the recovery partition and did not make a set of recovery disks, you can contact HP and they should be able to send you some so you can restore your computer. This issue can be resolve in many different ways, so this is just my take. After you get your computer up and running, visit the HP support site for your model and see if they in fact provide drivers for Windows 7, and if they do not (very likely) you should consider shelving your downgrade project and instead consider upgrading to Windows 8.1 if supported for that model. Good luck.
     
  3. Macboatmaster

    Macboatmaster Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    21,172
    There MAY be a way round this if you still need help and wish to try before going back if possible to recovery from the hard drive partition - then when you reply we will try in cmd prompt a editing of the boot configuration data


    I say MAY as although there is a GUID - for Windows 7 setup - there is a doubt on the GUID for 8


    If you wish to pursue the possibility at a cmd prompt please type this cmd and paste the result


    bcdedit /enum
     
  4. Jellyblood

    Jellyblood Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2014
    Messages:
    13
    Thank you for your replies, I would like to see if i can recover anything i would like to resolve this with out needing to call HP i am positive my warranty is up,

    Here is the result of bcdedit /enum :

    Windows Boot Manager
    ----------------------------------
    identifier_______________{bootmgr}
    device_________________Partition=\Device\HarddiskVolume2
    path___________________\EFI\Microsoft\Boot\bootmgfw.efi
    description______________Windows Boot Manager
    locale__________________en-US
    inherit__________________{globalsettings}
    default_________________{default}
    resumeobject____________{d0c217af-3515-11e3-9d22-8d2cbc77ec6f}
    displayorder_____________{default}
    toolsdisplayorder_________{memdiag}
    timeout ________________30

    Windows Boot Loader
    ------------------------------
    identifier_______________{default}
    device_________________partition=C:
    path___________________\Windows\system32\winload.efi
    description______________Windows 8
    locale__________________en-US
    inherit__________________{bootloadersettings}
    isolatedcontext___________Yes
    allowedinmemorysettings___0x1300075
    osdevice________________partition=C:
    systemroot______________\Windows
    resumeobject____________{d0c217af-3515-11e3-9b22-8d2cbc77ec6f}
    nx_____________________OptIn
    bootmenupolicy__________Standard
    detecthal________________Yes

    X:\Windows\system32>
     
  5. Macboatmaster

    Macboatmaster Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    21,172
    Try this - please note that I cannot assure you it will work
    However you will be no worse than you are now


    at the cmd prompt type


    bcdedit /default {default}


    note please the { } around the word default


    that is what is known as the Globally unique Identifier
    On your previous bcd posted the GUID for the windows setup - your attempt to install 7 is
    {7254a080-1510-4a85-ac0f-e7fb3d444763}


    It is possible for a GUID to be replaced with the GUID {default} and I am hoping that this is the case on your windows 8


    press enter after typing the cmd. You should receive all being well confirmation
    Then exit from that reboot and see what happens


    I am signing off now it is 0220 UK time
    I will check when I return how you went on
    Not back until about 1700
     
  6. Jellyblood

    Jellyblood Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2014
    Messages:
    13
    I am sorry for the delayed reply. I was moving this last week. I tried the bcdedit command and it was successful but unfortunately it is still not moving past the HP loading screen.

    I also noticed i made a mistake when I posted my Windows Boot Manager info:

    Under Windows Boot Loader:

    systemroot \Windows

    it does not say
    systemroot \$WINDOWS.~BT\Windows

    could this be the issue?
     
  7. Macboatmaster

    Macboatmaster Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    21,172
    send me another bcdedit as per your one on post 1 please from the cmd prompt
     
  8. Jellyblood

    Jellyblood Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2014
    Messages:
    13
    After I used the Commands Macbootmaster suggested this is what it says under bcdedit now:


    Windows Boot Manager
    ----------------------------------
    identifier_______________{bootmgr}
    device_________________Partition=\Device\HarddiskVolume2
    path___________________\EFI\Microsoft\Boot\bootmgfw.efi
    description______________Windows Boot Manager
    locale__________________en-US
    inherit__________________{globalsettings}
    default_________________{default}
    resumeobject____________{d0c217af-3515-11e3-9d22-8d2cbc77ec6f}
    displayorder_____________{default}
    toolsdisplayorder_________{memdiag}
    timeout ________________30

    Windows Boot Loader
    ------------------------------
    identifier_______________{default}
    device_________________partition=C:
    path___________________\Windows\system32\winload.efi
    description______________Windows 8
    locale__________________en-US
    inherit__________________{bootloadersettings}
    isolatedcontext___________Yes
    allowedinmemorysettings___0x1500075
    osdevice________________partition=C:
    systemroot______________\Windows
    resumeobject____________{d0c217af-3515-11e3-9b22-8d2cbc77ec6f}
    nx_____________________OptIn
    bootmenupolicy__________Standard
    detecthal________________Yes

    X:\Windows\system32>

    it is no longer showing Windows Boot Setup when i put bcdedit into cmd.
     
  9. Macboatmaster

    Macboatmaster Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    21,172
    When you boot the computer on the very first screen does it mention - press ? (Could be F12) for Boot Options
     
  10. Jellyblood

    Jellyblood Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2014
    Messages:
    13
    I either get HP (with loading spiril) or Recovery Blue screen which says:

    Recovery

    Your PC couldn't start properly

    After multiple tries, the operating system on your PC failed to start, so it needs to be repaired.

    Error Code: 0x0000001

    You'll need to use the recovery toold on your installation media. If you don't have any installation media, contact your system administrator or PC manufacturer.

    Press Enter to try again
    Press F8 for Startup Settings
    Press Esc for UEFI Firmware Settings


    If i get the HP loading screen, before the HP shows I can use:
    F1 - System Information
    F2 - Startup Check - HP PC Hardware Diagnostics UEFI
    F10 - BIOS Setup
    F11 - System Recovery

    I have tried a windws 8 repair disk from a friends PC it said the repair was completed but when i booted the system again it still just had HP spiral.
     
  11. Macboatmaster

    Macboatmaster Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    21,172
    When please - as the bcd /enum I asked you to run and you posted the result in post 4 -
    cannot change the entries shown
    and yet it was different to the one you sent in post 1.
     
  12. Jellyblood

    Jellyblood Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2014
    Messages:
    13
    The windows 8 USB I have was attempted before my first post to this site. All we have done as been after I tried to reinstall windows 8.
     
  13. Macboatmaster

    Macboatmaster Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    21,172
    go to a cmd prompt

    type
    diskpart

    when it loads
    type
    list disk

    what does it show please
     
  14. Jellyblood

    Jellyblood Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2014
    Messages:
    13
    Microsoft DiskPart version 6.2.9200

    Copyright (C) 1999-2012 Microsoft Corp.
    On computer: MININT-RDIPA7J

    DISKPART> list disk

    Disk ###______ Status________ Size_______ Free____Dyn_____ Gpt
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Disk 0________Online_________465 GB_____ 0 B_____*________*

    DISKPART>
     
  15. Macboatmaster

    Macboatmaster Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    21,172
    type
    sel disk 0


    then when it reports disk 0 is the selected disk
    type
    list vol


    what does it then show you - you will need to get that exact for me when you type it
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1134101

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice