1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Windows wont load

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by Teevo, Jan 17, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. blues_harp28

    blues_harp28 Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    18,664
    ST3500320AS - is the hard drive, leave the boot order as it is.
    Exit the Bios - making no changes.
    My next move would be a hard drive test.
     
  2. Teevo

    Teevo Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2012
    Messages:
    68
    But before i move on, am i supposed to change or leave the line that says: "First boot device: Removable.... ? Cause i could change that to hard disk, if that would help?
     
  3. blues_harp28

    blues_harp28 Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    18,664
    Here you say the hard drive is the listed as third.

    Now you are saying it is first in the list.
    Quote.
    ' If you want that one in the #1 spot, it already is.'

    Which is it?
     
  4. Teevo

    Teevo Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2012
    Messages:
    68
    Im talking about two different things.. both involving my hard disk boot priority.

    Starting from the main menu screen of bios, i go to advanced bios features and hit enter. Then it shows this:

    >Hard disk boot priority [press enter]
    >Cdrom boot priority [press enter]
    >Network boot priority [press enter]
    CPU Internal cache: Enabled
    Quick power on self test: Enabled
    First boot device: Removable
    Second boot device: Cdrom
    Third boot device: Hard disk

    Hitting enter on >Hard disk boot priority is where it gives me the two options of Ch6M ST3500.... and the bootable addin cards.

    Hitting enter on "First boot device" lets me change it from Removable as priority to hard disk.

    Do you want me to change the Removable to hard disk for first boot device priority?
     
  5. blues_harp28

    blues_harp28 Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    18,664
    Under Hard disk boot priority - Ch6 M. : ST3500320AS is already set as 1.
    Leave it set as it is and then Exit the Bios.
    Find where it say Exit without making changes or something similar.
     
  6. Teevo

    Teevo Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2012
    Messages:
    68
    I exited without changing anything.

    As for your suggestion to do a hard drive test, im unable to get into windows so im not able to download that program. Unless im missing something?
     
  7. ekim68

    ekim68

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2003
    Messages:
    54,759
    First Name:
    Mike
    What is the make and model of your computer? Some have a diagnostic mode that can check your drive..
     
  8. Teevo

    Teevo Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2012
    Messages:
    68
    Its custom built. Im gonna have a diagnostic done tomorrow and we'll go from there. My friend thinks its the hard drive failing, but hopefully salvagable since i can get into safe mode.
     
  9. ekim68

    ekim68

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2003
    Messages:
    54,759
    First Name:
    Mike
    Well, as a last shot, you can do a system restore in Safe Mode just in case it's an OS problem...
     
  10. blues_harp28

    blues_harp28 Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    18,664
    I should have said that you download the hard drive test onto a working Pc - burn to a Cd and then run in on the non starting Pc.
     
  11. Teevo

    Teevo Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2012
    Messages:
    68
    Ok, had them take a look at the hard drive at work. They were able to explore all the files so I'm buying an enclosure kit to back everything up on my girlfriend's computer and then I'm going to have a full diagnostic run on it to see if its a hardware issue, software issue, or corrupt device. I will post the results as soon as I have them so we can determine what to do from there.
     
  12. blues_harp28

    blues_harp28 Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    18,664
    Ok - keep us updated.
     
  13. Teevo

    Teevo Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2012
    Messages:
    68
    Update: got everything backed up, diagnostic is being run tonight; Ill post an update tomorrow morning/afternoon, i appreciate your patience while we wait for some answers.
     
  14. blues_harp28

    blues_harp28 Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    18,664
  15. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1085707

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice