1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Windows won't read correct amount of RAM.

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Chief787, Jan 25, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Chief787

    Chief787 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2005
    Messages:
    15
    Okay, I have a Asus p4p motherboard and I had 1gig of Kingston, 400 dual channel RAM in, perfect. Now, I add the exact same Kingston, 400 dual channel RAM in (2 more 512's) and windows is only reading 1.5 gigs.

    If I do my math right I think it's supposed to say 2gig? :) Any help on this issue?

    Thank you in advance,

    Kent
     
  2. loserOlimbs

    loserOlimbs

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2004
    Messages:
    7,800
  3. Chief787

    Chief787 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2005
    Messages:
    15
    Apparently it's reading 256, take a look for yourself. What I bought was this:

    Kingston Dual Channel 512MB DDR400 kit of 2 desktop systems.

    Contains KVR400AK2/512R & KVR400AK2/IGR Support:...


    Clocks

    Intel P4 CPU 2.8
    Core Speed: 2806
    Multiplier: x14.0
    FSB: 200.4 MHZ
    Bus Speed: 801.8 MHZ

    Cache

    L1 Data: 8KB
    L1 Trace: 12 Khops
    Level 2: 512 KBytes


    Cache under the Cache tab

    L1 Data Cache
    Size: 8KB
    Associativity: 4-way
    Line Size: 64 Bytes
    Context Mode: Adaptive

    L1 Trace Cache

    Size 12 Khops
    Associativity: 8-way

    L2 Cache
    Location: On Chip
    Size: 512 kbytes
    Associativity: 8-way
    Line Size: 64 Bytes
    Ratio: Full
    Frequency: 2806.4 MHZ
    Bus Width: 256 bits
    Prefetch Logic: yes

    Main Board Tab

    Manufacturer: ASUSTeK CComputer INc.

    Model: P4P800 Rev 1.xx
    Chipset: Intel i865P/PE/G/i848P
    Southbridge: Intel 82801EB (ICH5)
    Sensor Winbond W83627THF


    BIOS

    Brand: American Megatrends Inc.
    Version: 1019.005
    Date: 10/14/2004

    Graphic Interface

    Version: AGP version 3.0
    Transfer Rate: 8x
    Max. Supported: 8x
    Apperture Size: 64MByters
    Side Brand: Enabled

    Memory Tab


    Type: DDR-SDRAM
    Size: 1536 MBytes
    Channels # Dual
    Performance Mode: Disabled

    Timings

    200.5 MHZ
    FSB-DRAM: 1:1
    CAS#Latency: 3.0 clocks
    RAS# to CAS# Delay: 3 clocks
    RAS# Precharge: 3 clocks
    Cycle Time (Tras): 8 clocks


    SPD Tab

    Slot #1 DDR-SDRAM

    Module Size: 256 MBytes (Supposed to be 512?!?!)
    Max Bandwidth: PC3200 (200 MHz)
    Manufacturer: Kingston
    Part Number: K
    Serial Number: 4A1433E1
    Manufacutring Date: Weed 01, Year 06
    Correction: None
    Registered: No
    Buffered: No

    SPD Timings Table

    Frequency: 133 MHZ 166 MHZ 200 MHZ
    Cas# Latency: 2.0 2.5 3.0
    RAS# to CAS# 2 3 3
    RAS#Precharge 2 3 3
    TRas# 6 7 8



    Slot #2 DDR-SDRAM

    Module Size: 512 MBytes
    Max Bandwidth: PC3200 (200 MHz)
    Manufacturer: Kingston
    Part Number: K
    Serial Number: 772CC4D0
    Manufacutring Date: Weed 42, Year 03
    Correction: None
    Registered: No
    Buffered: No

    SPD Timings Table

    Frequency: 133 MHZ 166 MHZ 200 MHZ
    Cas# Latency: 2.0 2.5 3.0
    RAS# to CAS# 2 3 3
    RAS#Precharge 2 3 3
    TRas# 6 7 8


    Slot #3 DDR-SDRAM

    Module Size: 256 MBytes (Supposed to be 512?!?!)
    Max Bandwidth: PC3200 (200 MHz)
    Manufacturer: Kingston
    Part Number: K
    Serial Number: 491441E1
    Manufacutring Date: Weed 02, Year 06
    Correction: None
    Registered: No
    Buffered: No

    SPD Timings Table

    Frequency: 133 MHZ 166 MHZ 200 MHZ
    Cas# Latency: 2.0 2.5 3.0
    RAS# to CAS# 2 3 3
    RAS#Precharge 2 3 3
    TRas# 6 7 8



    Slot #4 DDR-SDRAM

    Module Size: 512 MBytes
    Max Bandwidth: PC3200 (200 MHz)
    Manufacturer: Kingston
    Part Number: K
    Serial Number: 752C14D1
    Manufacutring Date: Weed 42, Year 03
    Correction: None
    Registered: No
    Buffered: No

    SPD Timings Table

    Frequency: 133 MHZ 166 MHZ 200 MHZ
    Cas# Latency: 2.0 2.5 3.0
    RAS# to CAS# 2 3 3
    RAS#Precharge 2 3 3
    TRas# 6 7 8
     
  4. Chief787

    Chief787 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2005
    Messages:
    15
    Any help on this?

    Thanks a lot in advance~

    Kent
     
  5. crjdriver

    crjdriver Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Messages:
    38,373
    Very often many boards do not like all 4 slots populated. I checked asus's site and there are bios updates that address memory problems with all 4 slots filled.

    Do you have the latest bios?
     
  6. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    One of the memory modules may simply not be detected. Why not download Everest Home and check the memory configuration? See if all the memory slots think they have memory installed.
     
  7. loserOlimbs

    loserOlimbs

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2004
    Messages:
    7,800
    I am also wondering if you ordered a 512 kit, expecting 512 modules?
    Simple mistake, and that adds up right.

    Its true that alot of boards don't like all four slots full, but usually the problems are the FSB is downgraded to 333.
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/437235

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice