1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

windows wont start error message

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by bluenose123, Oct 14, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. bluenose123

    bluenose123 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    When I switch on my computer the following message appears
    Windows could not start because the following file is missing or corrupt:
    <windowsroot>\system32\ntoskrnl.exe.
    please reinstall a copy of the above file.

    can I do this without completly reinstalling windowsXP
    thanks
     
  2. Travis_P

    Travis_P

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    Messages:
    7
    you could try a windows repair.
    Insert the cd you installed windows with, boot from it, and use it to repair the OS
     
  3. bluenose123

    bluenose123 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    unfortunatley I dont have the windows disk, what a bummer!!
     
  4. Travis_P

    Travis_P

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    Messages:
    7
    Here is a link to the Microsoft page regarding your problem.
    Maybe that can fix your issue :O

    http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=kb;en-us;103673

    **** Edit..
    What OS are you running?

    Seems like you are going to need an XP cd for this..
    I think i had the same problem a long time ago with a friends pc.. After trying a bunch of options i ended up getting the pc to load windows, but it would crash before i would log in..
    I think in the end, i ended up formatting..

    And honestly, it might be just as easy to do that.
    If you have access to another computer, just slap your bad HD in, back everything up and Format.

    Hell, for a laugh, you could take someone elses ntoskrnl.exe and toss it on your machine ***** although i don't think this will work, and if i remember correctly, you will need the same XP cd you used to install, or atleast the same version *****
     
  5. bluenose123

    bluenose123 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Looks that way travis, thanks for the help
     
  6. Travis_P

    Travis_P

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    Messages:
    7
    np :) good luck!
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/759164

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice