windows XP activation

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

TypeSK

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 16, 2002
Messages
676
ok, a computer was upgraded from win2k to winxp pro with a windows upgrade version ....

but now, needs to be reformated and reinstalled...

how would i go about doing this?

format, reinstall win2k, and upgrade?

also, what about re-activating it? any issues there?
 
Joined
May 9, 2003
Messages
106
Yes there will be reactivation issues, but not a big deal. You must call microsoft to obtain a new activation key. Just explain you had to reformat.

As for the installation...im not sure how that will go...better ask ms first. I havent upgraded an OS before...ive always done clean installs...so im not sure if the upgrade disk is enough to put on a full install...but check with ms anyways
 
Joined
Jan 17, 2003
Messages
10,254
You can boot from the XP CD, delete and recreate partition (s) and format using the Win XP CD . . early in the installation, it will ask you for qualifing media . . insert the win 2000 disc and once it verifys that you qualify for the upgrade, it will prompt for the XP disc and off it will go.

You will have to re-activate, but unless you have replaced a lot of hardware, it is a non event.

Have Fun! . . wrs
 

TypeSK

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 16, 2002
Messages
676
simpswr said:
You can boot from the XP CD, delete and recreate partition (s) and format using the Win XP CD . . early in the installation, it will ask you for qualifing media . . insert the win 2000 disc and off it will go.

You will have to re-activate, but unless you have replaced a lot of hardware, it is a non event.

Have Fun! . . wrs
ok, so use the windows xp pro upgrade CD?

and then ill insert win2k disc, and it will install everything? ok, kool ... ill try that...

and re-activate wont be a problem? i have all the same hardware .... so ok ...
 
Joined
Jan 17, 2003
Messages
10,254
ok, so use the windows xp pro upgrade CD? - Right

and then ill insert win2k disc, and it will install everything? ok, kool ... ill try that... When it prompts you for eligiblity

and re-activate wont be a problem? i have all the same hardware .... so ok ...
It should not be a problem . . let us know how it goes . . XP is by far the easiest O/S to install yet.

Have fun . . wrs
 
Joined
Apr 3, 2002
Messages
373
"and then ill insert win2k disc, and it will install everything?"

The only reason you need to insert the Win2k disc is to verify that you are eligible for the 'upgrade' version of XP. You do not need to install anything off the Win2k disc.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top