1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Windows XP auto log off

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by gridl0ck, Apr 7, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. gridl0ck

    gridl0ck Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    Messages:
    85
    Hello everyone i'm new to this site :)

    I did an adaware scan on my pc and removed the recommended items to quaratine. After restarting it my computer seems to auto log off at the startup screen. After some research I found a thread from mosaic1 who helped someone with the same problem. However I tried the steps in that post and it has not worked.

    I got a copy of userinit.exe and copied it to system32 (there was already a userinit.exe present anyway but I thought it might be infected). I also did copy userinit.exe wsaupdater.exe as suggested on the microsoft website but still no luck.

    I think there might be something wrong with the registery. Any help will be much appreciated.

    Thank You
     
  2. Megabite

    Megabite

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Messages:
    11,761
    Howdy,

    So tell us exactly what it does when you start the PC up...and do you have a sign in name and or password?
     
  3. gridl0ck

    gridl0ck Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    Messages:
    85
    Hey there, well it starts up and my background shows up for about 3-4 seconds and then comes back to the log in screen. The thing is I have no guest account set up or a password to login. Usually it would just load straight to the desktop with out the login screen. When the login in screen has loaded I click on my username and as there is no password it proceeds to load to desktop.
    It then logs itself straight back out :(

    Thanks
     
  4. Megabite

    Megabite

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Messages:
    11,761
    Can you get into safemode??

    How to Start in Safemode

    1. Restart your computer.
    2. Before the windows logo you should gently tap the F8 key repeatedly until you are presented with a Windows XP Advanced Options menu.
    3. Select the option for Safe Mode using the arrow keys.
    4. Then press enter on your keyboard to boot into Safe Mode.
    5. Do whatever tasks you require and when you are done reboot to boot back into normal mode..
     
  5. gridl0ck

    gridl0ck Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    Messages:
    85
    Unfortunately safe mode is not safe anymore! (Also auto logs off) The only thing I can access is windows recovery conolse, my screen is just at the C:\ windows prompt right now. Is it possible to run systemrestore from cmd somehow?
     
  6. Megabite

    Megabite

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Messages:
    11,761
    You can try this first

    Type fixmbr click Enter

    Then type fixboot click Enter

    Try restarting the PC
     
  7. gridl0ck

    gridl0ck Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    Messages:
    85
    Hello there I hvae typed in fixmbr however a caution has come up:

    "this computer appears to have a non-standard or invalid master boot record.

    fixmbr may damage your partition tables if you proceed

    this could cause all the partitions on the current hard disk to become inaccessible.

    if you are not having problems accessing your drive do not continue

    are you sure you want to write a new MBR?"

    Is this normal and should I proceed?

    Thanks
     
  8. Megabite

    Megabite

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Messages:
    11,761
    Do you have Norton on that PC?
     
  9. gridl0ck

    gridl0ck Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    Messages:
    85
    No I do have Bitdefender installed on it.
     
  10. Megabite

    Megabite

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Messages:
    11,761
    OK...forget that command and try this

    At the prompt type chkdsk c: /r click Enter
     
  11. gridl0ck

    gridl0ck Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    Messages:
    85
    Just waiting for it to complete, taking some time it is on 61%.
     
  12. Megabite

    Megabite

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Messages:
    11,761
    Ok......
     
  13. antech

    antech Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,427
    Is this also happening with the "Administrator" account listed in the safe mode?
     
  14. gridl0ck

    gridl0ck Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    Messages:
    85
    antech yes it is :(
     
  15. Megabite

    Megabite

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Messages:
    11,761
    Any luck yet?
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/915305

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice