Windows XP does not assign a WINS Server, DNS Server, or Default Gateway

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

LonHoss

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 27, 2012
Messages
4
Windows XP does not assign a WINS Server, DNS Server, or Default Gateway.

Here is the output from ipconfig /all:

Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
(C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

C:\Documents and Settings\Lon Hoss>IPCONFIG /ALL

Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : omnibook-6100
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) PRO/100 VM Network Connecti
on
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-C0-9F-09-00-6D
Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration IP Address. . . : 169.254.237.137
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.0.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :

C:\Documents and Settings\Lon Hoss>
 

LonHoss

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 27, 2012
Messages
4
No network connection
Windows XP does not assign a WINS Server, DNS Server, or Default Gateway.

Here is the output from ipconfig /all:

Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
(C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

C:\Documents and Settings\Lon Hoss>IPCONFIG /ALL

Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : omnibook-6100
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) PRO/100 VM Network Connecti
on
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-C0-9F-09-00-6D
Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration IP Address. . . : 169.254.237.137
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.0.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :

C:\Documents and Settings\Lon Hoss>
 

TerryNet

Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
80,294
First Name
Terry
Windows XP does not assign a WINS Server, DNS Server, or Default Gateway.
That is correct; when no Dhcp server responds Windows (or any OS) assigns only IP (169.254.x.y) and Mask (255.255.0.0). No more is needed.

Were you expecting to find a Dhcp server? If so, to what (brand and model) are you trying to connect?
 

LonHoss

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 27, 2012
Messages
4
My other laptop is connected to the same switch and works fine. I am using a NetGear switch. The laptop I am communicating with you has a 192.168.0.1 "Default Gateway", "DHCP Server", and "DNS Server" address. This laptop has an IP address of 192.168.0.108.

I tried adding a PCMCIA Ethernet card to the troubled laptop PC, and it still doesn't get assigned a default gateway, DNS Server, or WINS server. I suspect something is missing in the OS, BIOS, etc. on this troubled laptop as I cannot get it to network connect?
 

LonHoss

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 27, 2012
Messages
4
My other laptop is connected to the same switch and works fine. I am using a NetGear switch. The laptop I am communicating with you has a 192.168.0.1 "Default Gateway", "DHCP Server", and "DNS Server" address. This laptop has an IP address of 192.168.0.108.

I tried adding a PCMCIA Ethernet card to the troubled laptop PC, and it still doesn't get assigned a default gateway, DNS Server, or WINS server. I suspect something is missing in the OS, BIOS, etc. on this troubled laptop as I cannot get it to network connect?
 

etaf

Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,435
First Name
Wayne
What firewall / security suite or anti-virus do you currently have on the PC - or you have ever had on the PC in the past - any trial ware - like Norton, Mcafee , AVG , Webroot etc

- try safemode with networking
as the PC starts keep tapping F8 - a menu appears - choose
safemode with networking - see if that works
------------------------------------------------------------------------
 

TerryNet

Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
80,294
First Name
Terry
I assume that the switch is connected to a router with LAN IP 192.168.0.1. Is its Dhcp server enabled and is the address range large enough to add another computer?

The APIPA can also be caused by defective cable, defective router or switch port, wrong driver, defective NIC or firewall.

What firewall or security suite is, or ever was, on the system?

Also try ...

TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Windows XP with SP2 or SP3.

Start, Run, CMD, OK to open a command prompt.

Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults: netsh winsock reset catalog

Reset TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ip reset reset.log

Reboot the machine.
 

TerryNet

Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
80,294
First Name
Terry
I've merged your threads here. Please do not start multiple threads on the same topic.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top