windows XP Home edition- Page cannot be displayed

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

xfile47

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 21, 2004
Messages
2,142
does anyone no why, everytime I go to a web page, ( it does not matter what it is) there are always some little boxes saying page cannot be displayed. I can get to the web pages no problem, and my computer is running good it just bugs me cause I can't remember that ever happening before SP2 was downloaded, it doesn't bother anything that I am aware of but why would that be on every page, some pages have one box somewhere and some have 2 or 3 different places they always say page cannot be displayed, (like I said I can get to any of the pages but would like to know why all of a sudden every page displays that somewhere?
 
Joined
Aug 20, 2004
Messages
168
I'm not sure exactly what you are talking about here...
If you mean that many web pages show a small frame or image that is "this can not be displayed", its because something is blocking what would be displayed there.
At my house, we have a dns server in the livingroom that blocks access to doubleclick and most other ad-servers. Anything that would be an inline advertizement shows up as a little "page can't be displayed" box.

SP2 may be blocking the scripts that create the images/frames/ads that "can't be displayed"

Try browsing with FireFox...
 

xfile47

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 21, 2004
Messages
2,142
so it is just something that would be an advertizment but has been blocked by something so it shows page cannot be displayed, thats ok, it never seems like it would be anything I would be interested in, I was just wondering why they were like that,
 
Joined
Aug 20, 2004
Messages
168
Well, I don't know for sure that it is ads in your case. We specificaly block ads at my house.

If you want to check into it, try lowering the security settings on your browser and firewall. This may allow these items to display.... Of course, I advise caution with this. :)
 

xfile47

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 21, 2004
Messages
2,142
Well thats another problem, Please read my other threads, there are 2 of them, 1 is regarding the firewall and I think the other one is two, Problems,problems, problems, I would sure appreciate it if you would take a look at them
 
Joined
Aug 20, 2004
Messages
168
Looked at your other post, but I'm not sure about the .net update. sorry...

What happens to the "can't be displayed" parts if you browse with another browser, like firefox?
 

xfile47

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 21, 2004
Messages
2,142
I din't try it yet, how do I get firefox up and runniing? and will it make a difference if I am connected to another computer in a home network if I try firefox?
 
Joined
Aug 20, 2004
Messages
168
<i>I din't try it yet, how do I get firefox up and runniing? </i>
www.mozilla.org

Well, it will help determine what is blocking those items. If you are at another computer on your lan, and they show up, its something local to your computer (ie, not your network/router/dns/etc). If they show up in firefox on your local machine, then its your IE settings that are blocking. If they still can't be displayed in firefox, then its something (likely the firewall or maybee adbusters or something) on your machine thats blocking.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top