1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Windows XP HOME EDITION system 32 corrupt

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by rabbit75, Jul 8, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. rabbit75

    rabbit75 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2012
    Messages:
    33
    I have a Dell inspirion 6000 laptop that crashed. When I tried to reboot I got the windows could not start due to corrupt system 32 error. I tried several fixes in this forum but the problem is if I try to repair bypassing the repair console people say that after license agreement it should give an r prompt at the bottom. It doesn't. Also when I use the instructions to do a system restore it says it doesn't recognize the command on the line after the cd snapshot. I don't know how to copy files because it never says in the forum how to do that or where to find them( it might but I just can't find them.) There is just one file I need to save. I did a chdsk/r and it said it didn't find anything. ( i'm going from memory) It won't let me do the one with /p. When I try to boot after the chkdsk still the same error. I see all these instrustions about going into safe mode and running programs. How can I if I can't even get into windows? And how can I save the file I need If I can't get into windows? I'm not so sure I could even do a complete reinstall?. I have the original Windows xp home edition that came with laptop.

    Thank you in advance for suggestions.

    p.s. I tried to do the fix on microsoft and several other links that were provided from people in the forum. They all require the system restore which I can't do or the repair after the licence agreement which I can't do.
     
  2. Lance1

    Lance1

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2003
    Messages:
    5,484
    That disk you have is most likely a restore disk. If you need to access the system to backup data I suggest that you use Ubuntu Live to access Windows and do the backup. Then use the DELL recovery disk to bring it back to factory default.
     
  3. rabbit75

    rabbit75 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2012
    Messages:
    33
    Is it a recovery disk if I used it to do a clean install of windows before?
     
  4. JennyJackson01

    JennyJackson01

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010
    Messages:
    636
    It could very well be a recovery disk as they perform a clean install on that particular machine and overwrite any personal data on it taking you back to factory default as Lance suggested.

    Jenny
     
  5. rabbit75

    rabbit75 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2012
    Messages:
    33
    Lance1
    I tried to do what you said about ubuntu live and imgburn will not copy it. I keep getting errors went thru 8 discs. Any other suggestions to get my files off?
     
  6. Lance1

    Lance1

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2003
    Messages:
    5,484
    Errors? What errors are you getting?
     
  7. rabbit75

    rabbit75 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2012
    Messages:
    33
    I got totally frustrated and just reinstalled windows. thank you .everyone. is always so helpful
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1060137