Windows Xp home SP1-Sfc /Scannow Gateway didn't give a disk how can I use it?

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

xfile47

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 21, 2004
Messages
2,142
I had a question. Helping a person awhile back and I am still trying to think of something.
He has a Gateway computer and he said he doesn't have an XP home CD. I tried to run Sfc /scannow on his computer cause after cleaning I tnink he was missing a few or some dll files. Anyway it would run for just alttle bit and would need a dll file and would say to put in your XP disk. Like I said he hasn't got one, I told him to put in the recovery disk to see if that would do any good and he said it didn't. How would you point it toward something you need or could you and if so how. There has to be a way he could get the files back if gateway didn't give him a disk isnt there? just wondering, now that I am thinking about it ,,it was Windows XP home SP2 I was just wondering in case I run across it again or could help him.
 
Joined
Mar 13, 2003
Messages
1,230
have them search for an I386 folder ( it may be hidden )
typical OEM installed will have the ' OS files " put on the hard disk somewhere for when its needed

I am not familiar with gateway computers so, i can not be certain
 

awalker0878

Removed by request
Joined
Dec 16, 2005
Messages
407
copy i386 directory to c:\windows
start notepad paste
--------------------------------------------start-------------------------------------------------
Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00
[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Setup]
"SourcePath"="C:\\Windows\\"

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Setup]
"ServicePackSourcePath"="C:\\Windows\\"
--------------------------------------------end----------------------------------------------------
save as i386source.reg
run i386source.reg

now sfc will run faster and no cd will ever be required
 

xfile47

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 21, 2004
Messages
2,142
If your running the sfc /scannow and it comes up put cd in drive, how do you then point it to the i386 folder? is there something to click on and then type in the path?

I would love to be able to do it the way you say awalker but I don't have a clue how to do that, the copy and paste is no problem but the rest I haven't a clue. it would be really good to no for future reference is there a place that explains how to do that more step by step???

until then swiper is there a way to point it??
 

awalker0878

Removed by request
Joined
Dec 16, 2005
Messages
407
1. Step One: Insert Windows XP SETUP CD (or in your case recovery cd into cdrom drive)
2. Step Two: Copy entire I386 Directory from the root of the CD-ROM drive to C:\WINDOWS (\I386 -> C:\WINDOWS\I386)
3. Step Three: I have created the reg file with command pasted above, just add reg file information by double-clicking onto it
4. Step Four: Reboot
5. Step Five: Run sfc /scannow command from the run box now it should not prompt you for the Windows XP SETUP CD
 

Attachments

awalker0878

Removed by request
Joined
Dec 16, 2005
Messages
407
xfile47 said:
If your running the sfc /scannow and it comes up put cd in drive, how do you then point it to the i386 folder? is there something to click on and then type in the path?

I would love to be able to do it the way you say awalker but I don't have a clue how to do that, the copy and paste is no problem but the rest I haven't a clue. it would be really good to no for future reference is there a place that explains how to do that more step by step???

until then swiper is there a way to point it??
http://www.updatexp.com/scannow-sfc.html is good guide and explation of what I have done. But you be the judge of what guide is easier
 
Joined
Mar 13, 2003
Messages
1,230
Original poster does not have XP CD do this from
alot of OEM computer companies provide you with restoring software disks
(os + junk software installation) to restore system as it was the way you first purchased the machine
 

awalker0878

Removed by request
Joined
Dec 16, 2005
Messages
407
If his recovery cd uses an imageing product then you are *screwed*. But most OEM still provide you with a windows setup cd.
 

xfile47

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 21, 2004
Messages
2,142
Thanks a million awalker, I really appreciate it. Thanks swiper. Awalker I am going to do that, Thanks again. I will mark this solved and thanks again. Its really nice to have people help out and don't mind doing a little teaching.
 

xfile47

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 21, 2004
Messages
2,142
Just went to the site awalker and that is a great site, thanks again, you probably have no idea how many headaches you probably save people.
 

xfile47

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 21, 2004
Messages
2,142
Can you get the file of a different windows disk, I mean like someone else has one or I have one, can a guy copy the file off any disk that has it (the i386) and put it on a another disk and then copy it to his computer or does it have to be a disk that came with that computer??
 

awalker0878

Removed by request
Joined
Dec 16, 2005
Messages
407
yes aslong as it is the same type:

windows xp home retail != windows xp home corp
windows xp home retail != windows xp home oem
windows xp home != windows xp pro
etc...
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top