1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Windows XP Home SP2-Starting problem with front switch

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by xfile47, Feb 8, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. xfile47

    xfile47 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2004
    Messages:
    2,142
    Helping a friend of my wife from where she works, thought I could fix it for him but now not sure.
    He had his computer sitting on a front porch for I guess quite awhile so it got cold and warm and cold and warm etc.
    He had a bunch of spyware viruses etc
    I did a clean install and everything is good except for starting.

    If you press the front button to start it like normal nothing happens, absolutly like it is dead.
    However, if you turn the surge protector off and take out the battery and put it back in then turn the surge protector switch back on it starts right up, I guess it is like draining all the power and then starting it. You can then run xp and do anythng normally and then go to start and shutdown and it will shut down but then if you press the button on the tower again it acts like it is dead again.

    So if you do the battery thing again it will start right up or if you unplug the power cable from the back of the computer and wait about 10 sec like draining the motherboard then plug it back in and it automatically starts the computer right up and everything is normally and it runs great. BUT when you got to start and shut it down the you cannot start it with the switch button ;you have to do the power drain again.

    Does this mean the switch is bad or could there be something else wrong or what? Can someone help me, I am rreally stumped here and I would like to get it running so it starts up the right way. Thanks in advance for anyone who will help with this.

    It is an emachine T1842 Mother board is a Trigem emachine imperial
     
  2. eddie5659

    eddie5659 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2001
    Messages:
    35,168
    Hiya

    I've moved you to the Hardware forum for more response :)

    eddie
     
  3. Drew7997

    Drew7997

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2005
    Messages:
    467
    Try replacing the CMOS battery all that hot/cold action can ruin a battery.... FAST
    Also, try opening up the Case and removing the wires that leasds to the front switch, then using an insulated screwdriver touch the 2 pins that the wires were on, if it works- it's a bad switch. if it doesn't could be a bad board.
     
  4. win2kpro

    win2kpro

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2005
    Messages:
    11,670
    Try a known good PSU.
     
  5. dustyjay

    dustyjay

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2003
    Messages:
    12,661
    First Name:
    Jay
    It sounds like the BIOS is set to Start up when Power is detected. As for the front switch, you can try to swap the leads for the reset switch and the power switch. These switches are electrically the same. though the power switch may have a connection for an LED.
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/542299

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice