1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

windows xp network question

Discussion in 'Networking' started by mattymcg, Feb 14, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. mattymcg

    mattymcg Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2002
    Messages:
    22
    Hi there. I am getting some bizarre behaviour on my windows xp laptop with regards to my connection to the internet.

    On the surface, everything appears to be working ok. My web browser works fine, Windows Media Player connects to CD databases ok, WS_Ftp Pro works well for ftp'ing files to my web site, and my email client operates fine.

    But there are a few other things that don't work. For example, I can't telnet, ftp or even ping ANYWHERE from my DOS prompt. And although WS_Ftp Pro works fine for manual file transfers, the synchronize and scripting tools that come with it are unable to establish a connection.

    I am pretty sure the problem lies at my end, as my old Win98 laptop plugged into the same connection can ping/telnet fine.

    If anyone could offer any advice on how to rectify this it would be appreciated. I have tried reinstalling my Network Adapter and this has had no effect.

    Thanks in advance.
     
  2. mattymcg

    mattymcg Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2002
    Messages:
    22
    Oh I forgot to mention that I have tried the ipconfig command to reset the connection (using /release and /renew) and this also does not change anything.

    Thanks
     
  3. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Did you turn off the XP firewall?
     
  4. mattymcg

    mattymcg Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2002
    Messages:
    22
    Yes, I sometimes use either the XP firewall or Sygate, but have them both disabled at the moment. What am I missing? I don't use it often but I'm positive I have telnetted/pinged from my XP machine in the past.
     
  5. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Sounds odd, I am not familiar with the symptoms described. :confused:
     
  6. mattymcg

    mattymcg Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2002
    Messages:
    22
    I know, it's weird hey? I don't know how long it has been the case because up til now I have been happy enough using IE, Outlook and Media Player, all access the internet fine. Why why why can't I do a ping?? I would normally use ping as a standard indicator that I can see the network when debugging my browser connection or something, I wouldn't have thought I would be seeing it the other way round!

    Does anyone else have any suggestions for something I can try? I always thought either "your connection works" or "it doesn't", not "well some things are working but others aren't"....
     
  7. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    How about opening a command window and doing an:

    IPCONFIG /ALL

    on each machine and posting the results.
     
  8. mattymcg

    mattymcg Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2002
    Messages:
    22
    Ok, here they are, with a couple of pings for good measure to prove I'm not imagining things. First, my old Win98 machine:

    C:\WINDOWS>ipconfig /all

    Windows 98 IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . : FREEBICO
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    211.129.12.47
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . : Broadcast
    NetBIOS Scope ID. . . . . . :
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . : No
    NetBIOS Resolution Uses DNS : No

    0 Ethernet adapter :

    Description . . . . . . . . : PPP Adapter.
    Physical Address. . . . . . : 44-45-53-54-00-00
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . : Yes
    IP Address. . . . . . . . . : 0.0.0.0
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . : 0.0.0.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . :
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.255
    Primary WINS Server . . . . :
    Secondary WINS Server . . . :
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . :
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . :

    1 Ethernet adapter :

    Description . . . . . . . . : BUFFALO LPC3-CLT
    Physical Address. . . . . . : 00-07-40-43-6E-19
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . : Yes
    IP Address. . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.8
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    Primary WINS Server . . . . :
    Secondary WINS Server . . . :
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . : 02 08 03 9:07:09 PM
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . : 02 11 03 9:07:09 PM

    C:\WINDOWS>ping www.helponthe.net

    Pinging www.helponthe.net [24.137.3.117] with 32 bytes of data:

    Reply from 24.137.3.117: bytes=32 time=268ms TTL=237
    Reply from 24.137.3.117: bytes=32 time=270ms TTL=237
    Reply from 24.137.3.117: bytes=32 time=267ms TTL=237
    Reply from 24.137.3.117: bytes=32 time=266ms TTL=237

    Ping statistics for 24.137.3.117:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss), Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 266ms, Maximum = 270ms, Average = 267ms

    C:\WINDOWS>

    --------------------------------------------

    And now my XP machine, running off the same connection:


    XP Machine
    ----------

    C:\Documents and Settings>ipconfig /all

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : SWEETICO
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : Yes
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : Yes

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection 9:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel 8255x-based PCI Ethernet Adapter (10/100)
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-39-F4-D7-B5
    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.2
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    211.129.12.47
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Sunday, 16 February 2003 8:40:00 PM
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Wednesday, 19 February 2003 8:40:00 PM


    C:\Documents and Settings>ping www.helponthe.net

    Pinging www.helponthe.net [24.137.3.117] with 32 bytes of data:

    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.

    Ping statistics for 24.137.3.117:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 0, Lost = 4 (100% loss),
     
  9. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    >>Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : SWEETICO
    >>Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    >>Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown
    >>IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : Yes
    >>WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : Yes

    The odd thing I see here is you have IP routing and WINS Proxy enabled, that could be part of the issue. FWIW, my XP system on my broadband router uses neither of these options.
     
  10. mattymcg

    mattymcg Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2002
    Messages:
    22
    Hmm, I don't know what either of them mean, and as a result don't know whether they have been set on the whole time, or how to turn them off.

    I opened a series of properties dialogs via the network connection in Control Panel, but couldn't find any specific screen where I can check an on/off checkbox for these properties.

    How do I turn them off?

    PS. I am running XP home.
     
  11. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    IP Routing is a server capability as a rule. I took a look and it's possible to setup IP Routing on workstations, and it's typically used to block access to some sites (sound familiar)?. :) Try typing ROUTE PRINT at a command prompt and see what you get. Have you installed any spam blocking software on the XP box?

    The WINS Proxy is a capability tied into network browsing in pre-W2K/XP networks, but it depends on a WINS server being available, so I'm not sure why that's enabled either. I'm guessing that some software package turned this stuff on. It doesn't make sense on your network. Do you have anything but the two machines? A broadband router perhaps? How are you connected to the Internet?
     
  12. Del

    Del

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2001
    Messages:
    3,452
    Try flushing the DNS tables by clicking 'Start', then 'Run' then type in 'CMD' without the apostrophes. At the command prompt type in 'ipconfig /flushdns'.
     
  13. mattymcg

    mattymcg Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2002
    Messages:
    22
    Hello again.

    Flushing DNS reported a successful flush but changed nothing.

    Apologies for not mentioning my connection details earlier. Yes, I have a little hub (is it a hub or a router or a switch? what's the difference?) that I use to connect two PCs to the cable modem. It is called a "Buffalo Petit Switch" (a Japanese model I believe, see http://www.zdnet.co.jp/macwire/0207/03/nj00_melcoinchub.html). The reason I didn't mention it is because when I remove it from the network and connect my XP machine directly to the modem, the behaviour is the same, so I didn't think it was a factor. Sorry, having worked in IT in the past I should have known to mention <b>everything</b>.

    Here is the output of route print. I have not installed any anti-spam software, although that sounds like a great idea! Thankyou for your help with this by the way, I know we are close.

    C:\Documents and Settings>route print
    ===========================================================================
    Interface List
    0x1 ........................... MS TCP Loopback interface
    0x20003 ...00 00 39 f4 d7 b5 ...... Intel 8255x-based PCI Ethernet Adapter (10/100) - Packet Scheduler Miniport
    ===========================================================================
    ===========================================================================
    Active Routes:
    Network Destination Netmask Gateway Interface Metric
    0.0.0.0 0.0.0.0 192.168.0.1 192.168.0.2 20
    127.0.0.0 255.0.0.0 127.0.0.1 127.0.0.1 1
    192.168.0.0 255.255.255.0 192.168.0.2 192.168.0.2 20
    192.168.0.2 255.255.255.255 127.0.0.1 127.0.0.1 20
    192.168.0.255 255.255.255.255 192.168.0.2 192.168.0.2 20
    224.0.0.0 240.0.0.0 192.168.0.2 192.168.0.2 20
    255.255.255.255 255.255.255.255 192.168.0.2 192.168.0.2 1
    Default Gateway: 192.168.0.1
    ===========================================================================
    Persistent Routes:
    None
     
  14. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    I find it curious that the metric for many of your routes are set to 20, all of my machines are all set to one. Wait... I just looked at an XP machine, and it's got 30's where you have 20's, I wonder what that's all about? :confused:

    I really don't see anything that jumps out at me with the exception of IP Routing and WINS Proxy being enabled. From what I can see, you have to whack them in the registry on a workstation, you don't have the tools that you do on a server.
     
  15. mattymcg

    mattymcg Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2002
    Messages:
    22
    I can't find where to set these in the registry (a search on WINS or routing does not open any doors), but thinking about it I must say I am a little skeptical. How is it possible that my browser can operate perfectly but I can't do a ping? I am not using a proxy server or any peculiar configuration in IE. If I couldn't get anywhere <b>period</b> it would make more sense, but why am I just unable to see the network from the command line (or from a WS_Ftp script) ??

    How is that possible?
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/118842

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice