1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Windows XP not starting

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by Aurthur, Sep 24, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Aurthur

    Aurthur Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    Ok I turn on my computer and after the red and white "Compaq" screen I get this black screen with white text that says:
    "We apologize for the inconvenience but Windows did not start successfully. A recent hardware or software change might have cause this"
    Paragraph sbout how if it stopped respnding or shut down use Last Known Good Configuration.
    Then a paragraph about if startup was stopped by a power failure then try Start Windows Normally
    Then:
    Safe Mode
    Safe Mode with Networking
    Safe Mode with Command Prompt

    Last known Good Configuration

    Start Windows Normally

    None of those options will start Windows, it just turns off and goes back to that screen.

    Anyone have any help?
     
  2. dodge_viper

    dodge_viper

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2006
    Messages:
    127
    do you have an xp disk with you? (assuming you have xp)
     
  3. Aurthur

    Aurthur Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    I guess thats the CD that has the XP OS on it. No. We didn't get one with the computer.

    Edit: The computer I am using now is exactly like mine that messed up, well except I have different data on each.
     
  4. dodge_viper

    dodge_viper

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2006
    Messages:
    127
    did you buy the system recently? i think you can get one from HP.

    if you have one try booting using that
     
  5. Aurthur

    Aurthur Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    Bought it 3 or 4 years ago
     
  6. dodge_viper

    dodge_viper

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2006
    Messages:
    127
    Insert the disk you have to the CD rom boot the sys. When you see Compaq logo keep pressing F10( or F2) to go to the setup .

    Change the boot sequence to boot from the CD

    Exit the setup.

    Then try to boot from the CD

    Let us know wat happens
     
  7. Aurthur

    Aurthur Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    CD?
    I didnt get a XP CD for either computer when I bought them.
    How could I get a XP CD?
     
  8. dodge_viper

    dodge_viper

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2006
    Messages:
    127
    oops sorry!

    Do you have valuable data in the system?
     
  9. Aurthur

    Aurthur Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    I have data I would rather not lose.
    I think I have a Windows 95 OS CD, not sure though, would it work?
     
  10. dodge_viper

    dodge_viper

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2006
    Messages:
    127
    do you have floppy drives in both systems?
     
  11. Aurthur

    Aurthur Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    Windows XP computer doesn't have a floppy drive.

    EDIT: or could i get a free linux OS and use it?
     
  12. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/752948

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice