1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Windows XP pro Disaster

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by duir, Nov 28, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. duir

duir Thread Starter

Hi - Please bear with me, I am no expert but will try and explain as best I can.

History: 3 days ago my mouse stopped working, a new one, changed to another one which worked for 2 days. Swapped back to the other, worked for a day. I could only move the cursor left to right or it would freeze completely. Today neither would work. I was desparate to get online and this mini laptop isnt really what I need, so I reformatted the pc.

Since doing so, my ISP cd was loaded but it said it couldnt locate the ethernet cable although it was plugged in, tried different ports both on the hub and pc, not recognising it.

In device manager I dont see a network adaptor, loaded the OS cd again and nothing. I've only had this pc since August, built for me with new components. After reformatting, the mouse worked for a couple of hours and now has frozen again, after 5 hours re-bloody-formatting (forgive my french - you should hear it here, its worse)

I seriously cannot afford another new pc, is there anything that sticks out to anyone? I'm sure everyone says it but I'm desparate. I've been sat here trying to sort it out all day. Do you think it was it a virus?

Hope you can help me and many thanks in anticipation of a reply.

2. DVOM

DVOM

Holy Moly...it takes 5 hours to do an XP reformat? That should be 1 hour or less.