1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Windows XP Pro Reinstall stuck at 32 Minutes (Installing Network)

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by Tehgame, Apr 14, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Tehgame

    Tehgame Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2007
    Messages:
    58
    Hey,

    I've reformatted my hard drive and attempted to reinstall windows XP but it's always getting stuck at 32 minutes "Installing Network". I read a few things online, tried disabling my NIC card but still no luck. :confused:

    Anyone have any ideas. I would like to try to do a fresh reformat and try installing it again, but have no idea how to bring up the screen to reformat again. It always takes me straight to the install portion of the process.:confused:

    Any help is greatly appreciated...

    Thanks
     
  2. Sponsor

  3. Mojolookout

    Mojolookout

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2008
    Messages:
    37
    hi,
    you might not have really disable your network card, try searching the bios for references to LAN and disable anything associated with it while installing windows. reanable them when you're done installing windows.

    the reason you can't do a fresh install of Xp is because your puter is booting from your hard disk not your Win XP Cd rom as it should. remedy that by rearranging the boot sequence from the BIOS or if your system asks you to "press any key to boot from cd drive" or something similar, press a key.
     
  4. Tehgame

    Tehgame Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2007
    Messages:
    58
    I can't find anything in my bios that's LAN related, but I will try rearranging the boot sequence and reformatting.
     
  5. Rich-M

    Rich-M

    Joined:
    May 3, 2006
    Messages:
    22,443
    The stall is either a dirty or cracked cd, weak cd drive, weak hard drive or mismtached memory.
     
  6. managed

    managed Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    Messages:
    8,596
    The Bios might call it 'Network' or 'Ethernet', disable anything with those words but please make notes so you can change them back later.
     
  7. Rollin' Rog

    Rollin' Rog

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2000
    Messages:
    45,855
  8. Tehgame

    Tehgame Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2007
    Messages:
    58
    Well, i've used the CD before to install. I have 2 drives (CDRW and DVDRW, so it's not weak) mismatched memory? What does that mean.


    @ Rog
    Mine stops at 32 minutes, does it matter if it's 34 or 32 minutes?

    Thanks
     
  9. Event3horizon

    Event3horizon Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2008
    Messages:
    22
    This may be obvious but make sure that you have all external devices disconnected and you just leave computer with mouse, monitor, and keyboard, and power cord when doing OS reinstall.
     
  10. Rich-M

    Rich-M

    Joined:
    May 3, 2006
    Messages:
    22,443
    2 or more mismatched (different maker different model) memory.
     
  11. Rollin' Rog

    Rollin' Rog

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2000
    Messages:
    45,855
    I doubt that the timing is all that precise -- it probably depends on cpu speed and other factors.

    Seems like you are in or just out of hardware detection mode when this happens.

    You can also examine the logs per the article to see where things are hanging.
     
  12. Byteman

    Byteman Gone but Never Forgotten

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    17,742
    I ran into this same problem just a few weeks ago....reinstalling XP on a Gateway laptop that had a dual core, and hyperthreading....and, the Intel SpeedStep in the BIOS.....disabling SpeedStep was the trick, but it took me hours to find it mentioned anyplace!

    Setup would always stall at exactly the same place just as Hardware was being detected.....and, setup took way far longer than it should- going really terribly slow- if that is what you are seeing, take a look at the link I have below and the tip on SpeedStep.

    Try going into your BIOS and look in the Standard CMOS settings area....for the Intel SpeedStep and simply disable it (on the one I did, you press Enter key when the item is highlighted...that brings up the 2 options, one Enable & one to Disable. Save and Exit the BIOS as it tells you.

    Then try setup again, it should complete this time.

    Ironically, I found the tip about disabling SpeedStep, here>

    http://forums.techguy.org/hardware/582490-freezing-during-system-restore.html
     
  13. Tehgame

    Tehgame Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2007
    Messages:
    58
    Ai, solved my problem. I had a small network card that I didn't see under my internal USB Hub. I removed it, and it went.

    Thanks to all, and hopefully someone will run into same problem and one of your solutions will work =p
     
  14. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/703628