1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Windows XP Professional Problems

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by CrazyDiamond, Sep 6, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. CrazyDiamond

    CrazyDiamond Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2004
    Messages:
    5
    I upgraded from Home Edition and ever since, I've had boot problems. Can I uninstall Professional without uninstalling Home Edition, and how do I do that?
     
  2. pinntech

    pinntech

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2004
    Messages:
    893
    To uninstall Windows XP

    • Click Start, click Control Panel, click Add or Remove Programs.

    • Click Windows XP Professional, click Remove and then follow the instructions on your screen.

    IMPORTANT
    You cannot uninstall Windows XP Professional if you:

    • Changed your hard disk configuration, for example, if you have converted from FAT to NTFS or have created partitions

    • Upgraded from Windows NT 4.0 or Windows 2000 Professional.


    That is what Microsoft says... I have not done that for a long time, but I think during the upgrade process, it offers you the option to create a backup. If you opted to do so, you should be able to uninstall it.

    If I may ask, why do you want to revert?
     
  3. CrazyDiamond

    CrazyDiamond Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2004
    Messages:
    5
    I read the help that Microsoft gave me, but when I went to the programmes list, the only thing there was Windows XP Hotfix removal. It did not have "Windows XP Professional" or anything remotely related to it. I want to get rid of Pro because it is a copy that my college gave me, and I'm sure that it was a faulty and terrible copy at that. My computer was at least running before this. Now I have to spend at least an hour a day restarting my computer in safe mode, last configuration that worked, etc. I spend an hour EVERYDAY doing this, before my computer works, and when it does, it runs pretty slow, and it's gotten to the point that I may just leave the thing on so I can use it the next day. I've ran a virus checker twice and the viruses on there were supposedly removed, and I ran adaware and system cleanup and I have done everything short of just wiping out the hard drive (which I would have done, but the company never sent me the CD I need when I got the computer). I want to get Pro off of my computer so I can at LEAST use it everyday. I need it for school, and I really don't want to have to go down to the computer lab everyday or get a new computer. Again, I can't get rid of XP anyway because it isn't even an option in the programmes list and I have never noticed it there before, even when I wasn't having problems with it.

    Here are the specs of my computer, if it helps:

    Compaq Presario (got it last year so it's practically brand new...knew I shouldn't have got a Compaq...but my dad wouldn't let me get what I wanted...)
    512MB DDR SDRAM
    120GB Hard Drive
    NVIDIA GeForce4 graphics card

    I am at my wits end, and it looks as if my only option is to buy a new hard drive or something.
     
  4. pinntech

    pinntech

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2004
    Messages:
    893
    Sorry, that is the only way I know of to remove it. Not sure if anyone else has some input for you. I have never seen instructions on manually removing XP Pro.

    Maybe via System Restore? Provided that the upgrade did not clear them all out.

    Yes, Compaq quit sending out the restoration CDs. If you have a CD-Writer or DVD-Writer in your system, you have to create your own restoration CDs via the Compaq Recovery CD-DVD Creator.

    You might be able to order a copy of your CDs from them. It would be worth a try.

    Sorry....

    Shane
     
  5. CrazyDiamond

    CrazyDiamond Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2004
    Messages:
    5
    Thank you for your help. I didn't know I had to create my own CD. Rather silly...but I'll try it.
     
  6. pinntech

    pinntech

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2004
    Messages:
    893
    I agree with you there... However, they started doing that a while back. You are not the only one that has that problem. I see almost every day at work.

    Lots of luck...

    Shane
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/271035

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice