1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Windows xp setup with raid0 array help

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by safezone, Feb 12, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. safezone

safezone Thread Starter

Hello,

I have a question.I recently built a computer.i set my hard drives up in a raid 0 array.The motherboard is an asus p4c800-e deluxe with a raid stuff already on it.It is my first time building and im pretty sure i did everything right.the array is ready to go.Here is the question.When i put the windows xp cd in and it starts up it says press f6 to install 3rd party drivers which i do,and then a screen comes up telling me to press S ,so i do.Then i get asked to insert a floppy disk with the drivers into drive A.All my motherboard came with is a cd with a bunch if info.I tried a few things made a few disk and have had no luck.Please help)) Here are my specs

Asus P4C800-E Deluxe
    P4 3.0g cpu
    aspire case with 5 led fans and 500w psu
    1g dual channel kingston drr ram
    geforce 6800 gt oc
    hitachi 80 gb hard drives (X2)

2. crjdriver

crjdriver Moderator

There are two ways to fix this. On the Asus support cd, there should be a folder called make disk or create disk [I cannot remember which it is] In this folder you will find an app that makes the floppy disk for you with the driver and txt file on the disk.

The other way is to go to Asus's site and download the file here is a link. It is half way down the page.

BTW you will need to create your raid array prior to loading xp.

3. norton850

norton850

Your motherboard might have two sets of SATA/RAID controllers. The CD therefore will have two sets of drivers. Obviously you need to pair the driver with the controller.

4. crjdriver

crjdriver Moderator