Windows XP shutdown issue and external HD

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

squid2k

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 19, 2008
Messages
3
I’m stumped! I just added a new external hard drive and now have issues with powering down. The drive is a 640 GB Western Digital Caviar housed in a Rosewill RX-358 case (SATA) and it’s connected to my Dell Dimension 4600 via a USB cable. If I boot the computer with the new drive connected, Windows XP (SP2) hangs at the blue screen that says “Computer is shutting down”. I can press the power button and it shuts off. If the computer is running and I connect the new drive, no problem. It shows up as H:, I can read and write to it, and Windows shuts down normally. I also have another USB connected external hard drive (Iomega 160 GB) and it doesn’t cause any problems. I would really appreciate any thoughts on how to fix this problem. Thanks!
 

squid2k

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 19, 2008
Messages
3
This is an external backup drive, not the primary drive. I know that Western Digitial HDs don't use jumpers, but perhaps this external drive needs jumpers to make sure it's recognized as a slave drive. Any thoughts?
 

~Candy~

Retired Administrator
Joined
Jan 27, 2001
Messages
103,706
WD drives DO use jumpers. And anytime you have one in an external case, you want it set to MASTER.

In any event, you should turn the external drive off when you shut the computer down. Then restart computer, once powered up, THEN turn the external on. No need to run the external needlessly. Heat builds up inside, shortening the life of your drive.
 

squid2k

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 19, 2008
Messages
3
The drive (WD Caviar, WD6400AAKS) is set as "master". That's the default for this drive (no jumpers) and under properties in Windows XP it says "Location 0". So it must be something else. WD shows jumper settings for various situations (SSC enabled, SSC and PM2, or revert to 150 mb/s). Do you think one of those options would help with the power down problem? Thanks for your help.
 

~Candy~

Retired Administrator
Joined
Jan 27, 2001
Messages
103,706
You can certainly try the other settings. Not going to hurt anything.
 

~Candy~

Retired Administrator
Joined
Jan 27, 2001
Messages
103,706
Also, take a look to see what programs you have running before you power down....via msconfig / startup tab. Something there could be causing it to hang.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top