1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Windows XP start up problem

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by daredevil09, Apr 1, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. daredevil09

    daredevil09 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    I have a hard time trying to start up my computer. On start up mode it goes only as far as the Windows XP loading screen with the bar then the monitor says no signal input. Then it takes me back to where it asks to choose any of the safe modes and/or the regular start up mode. Every option does the same thing over and over again. What is the problem with it?

    Windows XP Home Edition

    Thanks for any advice you can give me
     
  2. crjdriver

    crjdriver Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Messages:
    39,941
    You are going to have to supply more info.

    1 Has the system worked previously?

    2 Did you install any new hardware/software/update drivers, etc?

    3 Can you boot into the bios/setup?

    4 From the windows startup menu, have you attempted cmd prompt or cmd prompt with networking?
     
  3. daredevil09

    daredevil09 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    1. It has worked well in the past 2 years.

    I can't do any of the other questions you asked. The computer keeps rebooting after 15 seconds ( the count down time the computer gives you to choose either of the safe mode options or the normal mode option at the black screen) so basically Im stuck on that. Would this mean my computer has crashed and is useless now?
     
  4. Elvandil

    Elvandil

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2003
    Messages:
    51,988
    Can you choose any of the options on startup?
     
  5. Rich-M

    Rich-M

    Joined:
    May 3, 2006
    Messages:
    22,443
  6. crjdriver

    crjdriver Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Messages:
    39,941
    You enter the bios before windows starts to load; ie loading screen. Check your manual as to the key or key combo to enter setup/bios. If you can enter setup, you may just have a windows and or hd problem. If you cannot enter the bios, then you most likely have a motherboard, ram, power supply, etc issue.

    If you do have important data on your hd ie work files, etc, I would pull the drive and connect it to the system you are using now. Copy the data files. Once the data/work is safe, you can attempt to fix the problem.

    Post back with results of trying to enter the bios.
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/699418

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice