1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Windows XP stuck on Windows is starting up.

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by rocker2462, Nov 2, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. rocker2462

    rocker2462 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2011
    Messages:
    129
    I can't DL sysinfo so a quick rundown on the computer and the problem. Dell optiplex gx260 with an additional 1 TB internal HD added with a PCI SATA card. The TB HD is used for storage of media files only. Music, movies, videos and pictures. The stock 40 GB HD has the OS and other assorted software on it. I shut the computer down last night and rebooted this morning and it's booting properly until it gets to the Windows is starting up page, that's where it freezes.:( I have not added any software or hardware to the computer so I don't think that's an issue. Any help or suggestions would be greatly appreciated.:) Thanks.
     
  2. Phantom010

    Phantom010 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    34,796
  3. rocker2462

    rocker2462 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2011
    Messages:
    129
    Yes I can get to that screen.
     
  4. Phantom010

    Phantom010 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    34,796
    Try Last Known Good Configuration.
     
  5. rocker2462

    rocker2462 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2011
    Messages:
    129
    I did last known good configuration and got through and I'm on my desktop screen. I clicked start button to open firefox and nothing. Mouse has hourglass and seems to be frozen on that screen now.
     
  6. Phantom010

    Phantom010 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    34,796
    You can try a Clean Boot (2 pages) procedure to hopefully isolate a faulty application. Run it for both Services and Startup items.
     
  7. rocker2462

    rocker2462 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2011
    Messages:
    129
    OK, I'll give that a try. Thank you.
     
  8. rocker2462

    rocker2462 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2011
    Messages:
    129
    Typed msconfig in the run box and nothing happens? now that's strange?
     
  9. Phantom010

    Phantom010 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    34,796
    In Safe Mode, can you open msconfig or anything else?
     
  10. rocker2462

    rocker2462 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2011
    Messages:
    129
    No, and now it seems to be freezing on Windows is starting up page in Safe Mode. What is going on with this computer?
     
  11. blues_harp28

    blues_harp28 Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    18,867
    Has the above happened since you installed the 1 TB internal HD?

    I'd check inside the Pc.
    Remove any dust - do not use a vacumm cleaner, too much static.
    Check that all fans are free of dust and will rotate.

    Remove Ram - Video cards etc and then Reseat in the slots.
    But first - clean the copper connections of the Ram - Video cards with a pencil eraser.
    If more than one Ram stick - use just one at a time, as a test.

    Put the case back on the Pc - and see if it will boot to the desktop.
     
  12. rocker2462

    rocker2462 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2011
    Messages:
    129
    No, the 1TB HD has been in there for close to 2 years. Will try your suggestions now and post results when finished, thanks.
     
  13. rocker2462

    rocker2462 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2011
    Messages:
    129
    Cleaned dust out and both fans are working, removed both memory sticks and cleaned then installed 1 stick and tried to boot, same result, freeze's on Windows is starting up page. Removed first memory stick and installed 2nd stick, tried to reboot and same results as above. Installed both sticks and same results, froze on Windows is starting up page. Do not have removable video card.
     
  14. blues_harp28

    blues_harp28 Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    18,867
    Do you have the Xp install Cd?

    Boot from the Xp install Cd...when prompted press [R]
    Choose Windows installation [typically by pressing [1]
    When prompted for password.
    Press Enter.
    Type chkdsk /r
    [note space after chkdsk]

    When fininshed.
    Type Exit
    And press Enter.
     
  15. rocker2462

    rocker2462 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2011
    Messages:
    129
    I don't have an XP cd, it was on the computer when I bought it a couple years ago.
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1025157

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice