1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Windows XP won't boot/ 'Refresh Install' doesn't see XP installation

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by Parttwo, Feb 12, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Parttwo

    Parttwo Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Hi,

    The problems I am about to mention are regarding my laptop:

    Asus M6Ne
    OS: XP Professional (EN)
    Ram: 1024mb
    Hooked up to external monitor due to monitor (laptop) failure.

    Problem: (btw: i checked and the problem is not caused by the M$ Update that causes some BSOD's)

    XP won't boot up at all. I see the american megatrends screen, then the screen goes black and no HDD activity is to be seen (leds). When I insert a winXP cd and choose --> Install --> Repair; it doesn't see my windows XP installation. I only get to see 2 partitions (my c: and d: partitions; btw. XP is on the c: partition). There is no room left on the disk beside these partitions (they're crammed full with my personals...).

    What i tried:

    Inserting my xp cd didn't work so I burned the recovery console (standalone; rc.iso) to a cd and inserted it. This allows me to enter the repair function of the recovery console and enter into the prompt. Here I entered chkdsk /r. This totally fixed the problem as it rebooted into windows xp. However, when it started up it said virus blabla (internet security 2010 virus/ trojan). I removed this virus, carefully checking if the antivir didn't delete/ quarantain system files that are needed to boot.

    Next thing: Virus successfully removed; Rebooted laptop. Screen goes black. I booted into rc again and did a chkdsk /p followed by (after no effect) chkdsk /r as this helped me the first time. No effect at all.
    So what I did was: Reboot into the rc and type fixmbr followed by fixboot. Again, no response. Last thing i tried was to rebuild the bootcfg (by bootcfg /rebuild :) ). I followed procedure and gave the credentials for the boot (i called it windows xp professional edition, whereas on my old xp boot there is no addition at the end). I rebooted and get to choose out of 2 installs? my old one and the new boot. Whichever one i choose it won't boot. My external monitor goes into sleeping mode and no HDD activity is to be seen.

    Any suggestions are welcome :)

    PS: Strange thing is that it doesn't see my installation after rc --> install --> repair. But when I start rc i have to tell which windows to restore (press 1) and then enter my admin password (so it does see it in rc normal?!)
     
  2. Parttwo

    Parttwo Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Extra info:

    As stated above, I tried to rebuild the bootcfg 2 times. Now, when I boot into the rc and list the bootcfg (/list) I see three startup items:

    Microsoft Windows XP Professional (/fastdetect)
    C:\WINDOWS

    Microsoft Windows XP Professional edition (/fastdetect)
    C:\WINDOWS

    Microsoft Windows XP Professional (/noexecute=optin /fastdetect)
    C:\WINDOWS

    The first two are the ones I created using the bootcfg /rebuild command. However, no matter which one I try to load, the screen will turn black and activity will seize.
    Btw: Does it matter that there are 3 of the startup boot-items listed? Does it matter that they all seem to point to the same folder? (c:\windows).
     
  3. Parttwo

    Parttwo Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Update:

    What is happening now:
    I get to see the xp startup logo. Next i get to a blue (like standard xp) screen and an error pops up that says: (lsass.exe) When trying to update a password this return status indicates that the value provided is incorrect.

    After this the system reboots.

    What i did:
    - I copied the system.bak to the windows system file
    - Using bootcfg /default I made my old XP bootup (in the list of 3 above the one with noexec in the parameter) the default one.
     
  4. Parttwo

    Parttwo Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Ok so now it seems that there is possibly something wrong in the registry. Now i try to follow this procedure: http://support.microsoft.com/?scid=kb%3Ben-us%3B307545&x=16&y=17

    BUT NOW I CAN'T LOGIN TO MY C:\WINDOWS INSTALLATION ANYMORE! It doesn't accept my password anymore (admin pass) also leaving it blank doesn't work. How can this be? Could it be because of some of the above steps I took? I don't understand.
     
  5. Megabite

    Megabite

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Messages:
    11,761
    Well things seem to get better then worse........if you have important data on that drive ...you could get a 2.5 to 3.5 adapter and put it on another PC...or get an enclosure for the laptop HD.
     
  6. Parttwo

    Parttwo Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Hi Megabite,

    Thanks for your reply. I was considering that, but I just can't stand the fact I can't get into my laptop anymore :) Could it be that by copying the system.bak files to the system folder or pointing my old boot as default by using bootcfg /default that my password changed? I can't think of anything like that but maybe it could....

    It might be a good idea for me to get the data copied, but I will not rest until my xp install is restored
     
  7. Megabite

    Megabite

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Messages:
    11,761
    You have done soooo many things to the HD now that it like me is a bit muddled.....I understand your stubborness but first I would get the important data off and then carry on......unless your data isn't important.
     
  8. Megabite

    Megabite

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Messages:
    11,761
    Have you tried tapping F9 immediately on startup
     
  9. Parttwo

    Parttwo Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    True :) However, now we know what probably is causing it not to start (registry corrupted; maybe some files were deleted by my antivir after all?). So there are three things for me to do atm:

    1. Get my data copied a.s.a.p.
    2. Get the password for my xp (mine won't work, maybe there is a OEM one since I bought it through my school once. Or else try the netuser thingy.
    3. Once I recovered the password, Fix the registry as stated in the above link.

    After work I will buy a connector like you suggested and try the above steps.

    I'll keep any progress posted here.

    Any suggestions are still welcome! :)
     
  10. Parttwo

    Parttwo Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Yes I tried that, but it didn't work for me.

    Thanks for thinking along! (y)
     
  11. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/902310