Windows XP

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. The original thread starter may use the Report button to request it be reopened but anyone else with a similar issue should start a New Thread. Watch our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Mark Schallow

After upgrading from ME to XP Home version, I have two windows directories

windows
windows.000

Both the above files were last modified on 7/30/2001 when Win ME was installed onto my new computer.

XP was installed on 10/25/01.

I had to do a reinstall as during first upgrade, computer hung.

Is there one folder I can safely delete or must I keep both of them?

Thanks in advance!!!

Hello Mark

Im afraid i have no knowledge on this matter but wanted to say what a great website you have. Awesome

Savvy:)

Mark Schallow

Originally posted by SavvyLady
Hello Mark

Im afraid i have no knowledge on this matter but wanted to say what a great website you have. Awesome

Savvy:)
Why thank-you very much, SavvyLady! :)

one thing that i might try is using the auto restore back to when ME was on. then try to reinstall XP. I went from ME to 2K to XP and have no duplicate windows folders. just a suggestion.

Welcome back to TSG Mark!

ouch... coughed up the money to go from your previous OS to Me to Xp in such a short time... that makes Me quite worthless. (and believe me it is very worthless and a huge waste of money) I don't blame you though. I am in the same boat. I just finished putting together a new computer at the end of August and very regretably put Me on it, when I could have just waited a month or so for Xp and not used the computer until then. I want to put Xp on now, put prefer to wait as I just spent nearly $200 on Me. ($200 too much)